BOOK REVIEW: The Summer I Became A Nerd – by Leah Rae Miller

brthesummeribecameanerd

Title: The Summer I Became A Nerd
(Nerd #1)
Author: Leah Rae Miller
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
First published: May 7th 2013
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Finished reading: August 3rd 2016
Pages: 352

Rating 3qqq

“Be true to yourself and others will be true to you, too.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I picked this book up on a whim because of the summery title, mostly because I needed something to distract me from the cold weather down here. And while it’s certainly a great summer read, I’m having mixed thoughts about The Summer I Became A Nerd. It’s without doubt a fast-paced and mostly entertaining contemporary romance story and I LOVED the geeky/comic references. Those nerdy elements are without doubt the best part of this book! The story reads easily and both Logan and Dan are adorkable (in the best possible way.) And there is where it also went wrong: it really bothered me that the main character Maddie is so ashamed of the fact that she likes comics and other geeky things. Especially since she has been hiding it for so long and creating an alternative personality in order to be popular… Add a bunch of other cheesy high school cliches and a love triangle and it was close to ruining the story for me. Luckily the final part did manage to satisfy my inner nerd and that probably saved the rating from plummeting even lower. If you don’t mind cheesy high school cliches and a love triangle, you will probably end up loving this contemporary romance story though.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Seventeen-year-old Maddie looks like just another typical blond cheerleader and she has worked hard to create that image; picking only popular friends, liking only the right things and even dating the quarterback. But Maddie has a secret: she is a huge fan of comics and doesn’t really care about pep rallies or her best friend’s favorite singer. She is desperate to keep her secret nerd identity hidden, and doesn’t even enter the only comic store in town because she is afraid someone will see her. But when de delivery of issue #400 of her favorite comic is delayed, she can’t resist and enters the local comic shop anyway. And working at the counter is Logan, a geeky guy from school she secretly likes but can’t date because it would ruin her reputation. But Logan recognizes her and Maddie will soon have to choose between letting her inner nerd out or ignore her love for comics and lose Logan forever…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I love books with geeky elements, and those parts (especially the role playing!) were probably my favorite in The Summer I Became A Nerd. Logan is adorable as well and I really wanted to smack Maddie various times throughout the story for being that ignorant. I mean, why is it so necessary to be popular if you can’t even be yourself? That and the cheesy high school cliches/ love triangle lowered my rating considerably. I do have to say the story itself is fast-paced, entertaining and I LOVED the role-playing descriptions and comic references. Therefore I would still recommend it to fans of the genre.

6 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Summer I Became A Nerd – by Leah Rae Miller

  1. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Month In Review: August-September 2016 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

