BOOK REVIEW: Harry Potter And The Cursed Child – by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne & John Tiffany

brharrypotterandthecursedchild

Title: Harry Potter And The Cursed Child
(Harry Potter #8)
Authors: J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne & John Tiffany
Genre: YA, Fantasy
First published: July 31st 2016
Publisher: Pottermore
Finished reading: August 4th 2016
Pages: 320

Rating 3,5qqq

“Those we love never truly leave us, Harry. There are things that death cannot touch.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I was lucky enough to be growing up along with the main characters as the books were first published, and it’s easy to say the Harry Potter series is one of my childhood favorites. I’m still a fan, so of course I was thrilled when I first heard about Harry Potter And The Cursed Child. But then I started thinking. The original series played such an important role in my life when I was younger; how will this new title ever live up to that? And I normally don’t like reading hyped books either… Plus, this eighth book is actually the script of a play I will probably never actually see. To be honest, I was going to resist temptation and not read Harry Potter And The Cursed Child for the time being. But then the publish date arrived and reviews started popping up everywhere. And as you might have guessed, I couldn’t resist temptation. I gave myself the excuse that I didn’t want to run into any spoilers, but to be honest I just wanted to revisit their world one last time and see what the future had in store for my favorite trio. And it sure was a journey full of nostalgic feelings! I can’t say this new story actually lives up to the original series and I can understand why so many people seem disappointed by it, but Harry Potter And The Cursed  Child scored bonus points simply for the nostalgia. I won’t go into details to avoid spoilers, but I can say this: I liked the time travel and alternative past, but I wasn’t convinced by all the characters and final acts. And the fact that it’s a script does make it less pleasant to read even though it’s a superfast read. I wish I could actually watch the play! Still, if you are a Harry Potter fan it will be hard to resist this new story. I know I couldn’t…

shortsummary1reviewqqq

WARNING: SPOILERS!! DON’T READ THE SUMMARY IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE FIRST SEVEN BOOKS.

It still isn’t easy being Harry Potter even nineteen years after the final battle. It’s a different kind of difficult though as he is now the overworked employee of the Ministry Of Magic, a husband and father of three children. He still struggles with the past and memories still haunt him. And not all his children are happy with their famous dad… His youngest son Albus feels like he isn’t living up to the family legacy and hates being a Potter and above all resents feeling likea disappointment. He doesn’t really fit in at Hogwarts and has only one friend: Draco Malfoy’s son Scorpius and another misfit. Then one day the two take a decision that will threaten to change the past and present forever…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I can’t say this new story lives up to the first seven books, but I still really enjoyed reading Harry Potter And The Cursed  Child for nostalgic reasons. It’s a script which makes it less comfortable to read, but it is a fast read and there are many references to the past. I didn’t love it, but I think it’s still worth reading if you are a Potter fan. I hope they will make a movie version one day though! Either that or a rewrite of the script to a novel.

12 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Harry Potter And The Cursed Child – by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne & John Tiffany

  1. I gotta say I was not convinced on the idea of reading this book and your review seems to strengthen that idea , I am a potter fan but I just can’t make myself go and read this book with so many disappointed fans around and the book being a script of a play instead of the flowing beautiful words describing events , plus the stakes were too high in all the previous books , nothing here suggest that it’s the same high stakes scenario ,and I really have a huge To Be Read , so despite being a Potter fan i’ll skip it , atleast for the time being

    Liked by 1 person

    • In a way I wish I could have done the same… It’s still entertaining enough and it brought back a lot of nostalgic memories, but it is not nearly as good as the first seven books. And the fact that it’s a script for a play doesn’t really help either… I honestly hope she will give in and rewrite it into a proper story some time in the future.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I agree he’s such a great character! It does really show that the script is not just Rowling’s work; the first seven books are just so much better. I’m glad you enjoyed it as well though. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Month In Review: August-September 2016 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

