Teaser Tuesdays #106 – August 9th: The Last Girl

teasertuesdays

TEASER TUESDAYS is a weekly book meme originally featured at Books And A Beat. To participate, just open the book you are currently reading to a random page, and choose two ‘teaser’ sentences from somewhere on that page. (no spoilers!)

I’m currently reading one of my last pending ARCs, The Last Girl by Joe Hart. The blurb of this dystopian story sounds promising, but so far the story is missing a ‘spark’ that would turn it into an excellent read. The part that I have already read is good enough, just not anything expectacular. Hopefully things will improve later on!

ttgoodreadsblurbthelastgirl

My teaser (40%):

“They stare at one another, wide-eyed, trembling, and even though Meeka doesn’t resemble her at all, Zoey feels like she’s looking into a mirror. The same terror is etched into Meeka’s face, and there is something in her eyes that is beyond panic.”

What are you reading right now?

18 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays #106 – August 9th: The Last Girl

    • I’ve just finished it and it’s not a bad read… Just not anything mindblowingly good either. I did love that there wasn’t even a hint at a love triangle and little romance in general. That definitely surprised me since most YA dystopian novels seem to have one nowadays!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t exactly put my finger on the why yet, except for the fact that it all just sounded too similar to the typical dystopian story with a strong female character and the fact that the prose didn’t seem to properly grab my attention… I’m going to wait until tomorrow for the review to see if I can get my thoughts on paper properly.

      Like

Leave a Reply

