Books I’ve Read While I Was Away: Part 1

booksivereadwhileiwasaway

I had quite some free time to read during my trip, and I managed to finish a lot of books including A Dance With Dragons, which is HUGE. In this first part is a list of the first nine books I’ve read during my weeks away; each with a short review. Full reviews will be coming up during the next couple of weeks as I write them!

part1booksiveread

  1. The Universe Of Us by Lang Leav
  2. Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone
  3. Hotel Ruby by Suzanne Young
  4. Dead To You by Lisa McMann
  5. Secret Letters by Leah Scheier
  6. Vicious by V.E. Schwab
  7. The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson
  8. Anna And The Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit
  9. Memoirs Of A Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin

1. The Universe Of Us by Lang Leav (NETGALLEY)

theuniverseofus

4 stars.

Great poetry collection; I liked it even better than Memories. That might just be because it was easier to connect to the love-inspired poetry though, since I’m very much in love myself…

2. Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

everylastword

4,5 stars.

I can understand why so many love this book and recommended it to me, because I literally flew through the pages and finished it during my flight. The beginning is not as strong as I thought it would be, but the OCD is brilliantly done and I LOVED the Poet’s Corner and the poetry bits. Caroline was an interesting angle as well!

3. Hotel Ruby by Suzanne Young

hotelruby

3 stars.

Thank you Riveted for the free read! The idea behind this book is great, but I felt like something was missing… I loved the mystery and creepiness of the hotel, although I figured out quite early on what was going on. The insta-love romance did ruin the story for me and brought down the rating a star. It distracted from the plot and didn’t really add anything substantial to it…

4. Dead To You by Lisa McMann

deadtoyou

3.5 stars

 

Thank you Riveted for the free read! WTF that cliffhanger ending?! The story itself is fast-paced and intriguing, but the ending kind of came out of nowhere. Also, I wasn’t a fan of the insta-like between Cami and Ethan OR the way Blake behaves. Gracie is adorable though.

5. Secret Letters by Leah Scheier (TBR JAR PICK)

secretletters

3 stars.

I normally love Sherlock Holmes retellings, but this one just didn’t seem to convince me. While the historical setting seems to be well done, I’m not sure if the story itself (and Dora being his daughter) is actually believable. Also, the story had a really slow start and it took me along time to get a feel for it. Could have done without the romance as well.

6. Vicious by V.E. Schwab

vicious

4 stars.

I already knew I was probably going to like this book since I loved her writing style in the first two Shades Of Magic books, and I was right. While that series is still my absolute favorite, I thoroughly enjoyed Vicious. Fast-paced, great prose, superpowers, revenge plot… What’s not to like? Could have done without the romance, religious angle and some of the melodrama though.

7. The Art Of Being Normal by Lisa Willamson

theartofbeingnormal0

4,5 stars.

I’ve had quite a few people recommending this book to me and I’m glad I finally picked it up. I loved it! The prose is excellent and I literally flew through the pages. I loved the two main characters and the whole glbt/transgender angle made the story into something special. I loved the character development and it all felt realistic. I also loved the ending and the abandoned pool scenes… Basically a whole lot of love!

8. Anna And The Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit

annaandtheswallowman

2 stars.

Ok, here’s the thing: I normally love historical fiction and I have a special interest in WWII stories. This book didn’t seem to convince me unfortunately and I honestly struggled to finish it. I liked the linguistic references and how languages were described, but the tone was all off and I didn’t like the prose. It just didn’t seem to fit the middle grade target at all… Also, this story was just one of those cases where magical realism just didn’t do it for me.

9. Memoirs Of A Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin

memoirsofateenageamnesiac

3,5 stars.

This was without doubt a superfast read and quite an entertaining contempory romance story with a twist. It could have done without the romance. It could have done without the sort of love triangle. It could have done without all the drama (especially the main character; boy she is annoying!). I loved Will’s character though. I also had mixed feelings about the amnesia theme… I just felt it was pushed into the background most of the time which was a shame since it’s basically the most interesting thing about this story in the first place.


Part two will be published some time next week. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Books I’ve Read While I Was Away: Part 1

  1. Pingback: Books I’ve Read While I Was Away: Part 2 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

