Books I’ve Read While I Was Away: Part 2

booksivereadwhileiwasaway

Find Part 1 here. I had quite some free time to read during my trip, and I managed to finish a lot of books including A Dance With Dragons, which is HUGE. In this second part you can find a list of the last nine books I’ve read during my weeks away; each with a short review. Full reviews will be coming up during the next couple of weeks as I write them!

booksivereadwhileiwasawaypart2

10. The Final Trade by Joe Hart
11. A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin
12. Careless In Red by Elizabeth George (DNF)
13. The Private School Murders by James Patterson
14. Fallen Mangrove by Wayne Stinnett
15. The Honor Was Mine by Elizabeth Healey
16. Taal Is Zeg Maar Echt Mijn Ding by Paulien Cornelisse
17. The Girls by Lisa Jewell
18. The Hope That Kills by Ed James

10. The Final Trade by Joe Hart (NETGALLEY)

thefinaltrade

3,5/4 stars.

Thank you NetGalley and Thomas & Mercer for providing me with a free copy in exchange for a honest review.

This sequel was without doubt a lot better than the first book and reads a lot faster as well. I liked Zoey a little better, although she is still annoying and too much like the typical strong, self-sacrificing female main character. The Fae Trade is an great twist and Wen is an interesting character. Definitely worth the try! It does have a mayor cliffhanger ending though…

11. A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin

adancewithdragons

5 stars.

I can’t believe I have finally finished this monster! It’s been a while since I read the previous books, but I’m pretty sure this has to be my new favorite ASOIAF book. It has all my favorite characters for sure: Jon Snow, Tyrion Lannister, Daenerys and her dragons, Arya… I’ve never finished a ASOIAF book this fast. And that ending! Now the long wait for the sixth book begins…

12. Careless In Red by Elizabeth George

carelessinred

DNF at page 80.

WARNING: upnpopular opinion ahead!! Honestly, I’ve tried. I think this is only the second or third book I have ever DNFed and I still feel a bit guilty for doing so… I must have started this book at least four or five times before over the last two years, but I just can’t bring myself to keep reading. There are too many storylines and the pace is slower than a sleeping snail. On top of that the descriptions are superlong, dull and the story itself just doesn’t grab my attention either. A shame because it belongs to one of my favorite genres! I know this one is actually book nr. 15 in a series, but after this sample I don’t think I want to read the first book after all. I know a lot of people seem to enjoy this series, but it definitely isn’t for me.

13. The Private School Murders by James Patterson

theprivateschoolmurders

3 stars.

It’s without doubt super fast-paced book with a prose that is easy to read, but I felt like there were too many different storylines squeezed into just one book. Also, Tandoori is quite arrogant and it’s difficult to like her. The ‘cases’ she is trying to solve are intriguing though… But I wish that at least the whole James/romance sub plot would have been left out. I can’t deny it’s still an entertaining sequel though.

14. Fallen Mangrove by Wayne Stinnett

fallenmangrove

2,5 stars.

This is one of those cases where the problem most likely is me, and not the book… So I’m going to give it the benefit of the doubt. It’s not necesarily a bad read and without doubt action-packed, but the many technical details did distract from the main story and the ending felt a bit ‘weak’ after so many action scenes. I didn’t really find the plot credible either… But I can also see why the right person would really enjoy this read.

15. The Honor Was Mine by Elizabeth Healey (NETGALLEY)

thehonorwasmine

5 stars.

Basically, this memoir left me speechless. It’s a brilliant and highly emotional personal account of the author’s experience working with combat veterans. The story will most likely bring tears to your eyes… I liked that it was a mix of the thoughts/experiences of both soldiers and the authors herself. If you ask me, anyone who wants to understand the whole ‘veteran’ world better should read this memoir.

16. Taal Is Zeg Maar Echt Mijn Ding by Paulien Cornelisse

taaliszegmaarechtmijnding

4 stars.

Looks like an 11 hour flight helped me finally read a book in Dutch… It also helped that the subject really woke the inner linguistics nerd in me. I’ve decided that I won’t be doing a full review of the Dutch books I’ve read, but if you are Dutch, enjoy reading funny and short essays about language, definitely give this one a go.

17. The Girls by Lisa Jewell

thegirls

3 stars.

It’s not exactly a bad read, but somehow The Girls didn’t manage to convince me either. It didn’t immediately grab my attention like I thought it would and I had a hard time remembering all the different characters and their role in the story. The first half felt a bit ‘weak’ compared to the last part of the story, which ended up being a huge improvement. I can’t say I like the main characters in general though; including Grace, what happened in the gardens and the whole deal with the sister’s father. It kind of felt there was too much drama squeezed into a limited amount of pages…

18. The Hope That Kills by Ed James (NETGALLEY)

thehopethatkills

3,5/4 stars.

A free copy was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

This first book of a new detective series is without doubt an action-pacted thriller that reads like a train. The case is interesting even though some plot twists and developments seem to be a bit farfetched… The main character Fenchurch is a bit of a detective cliche with his messed up private life and all, but it’s definitely still an entertaining read for those who enjoy a good crime thriller and don’t mind a bit of colorful language and slang.

4 thoughts on “Books I’ve Read While I Was Away: Part 2

    • Very true! I don’t mind mediocre reads as long as there are at least one or two that really stand out… And I’m keeping my fingers crossed you will enjoy The Girls better! Who knows, maybe I had just set my expectations too high in the first place?

    • Since it wasn’t ment to be a ‘fun’ vacation (instead, boring paperwork), I had a lot of spare time while I was waiting. At least it was a great excuse to read a lot haha.

Leave a Reply

