BOOK REVIEW: Anna And The Swallow Man – by Gavriel Savit

brannaandtheswallowman

Title: Anna And The Swallow Man
Author: Gavriel Savit
Genre: YA, Historical Fiction
First published: January 26th 2016
Publisher: Knopf
Finished reading: August 25th 2016
Pages: 240
Rating 2qqq

“Because,” said the swallow man. “A friend is not someone to whom you give the things you need when the world is at war. A friend is someone to whom you give the things that you need when the world is at peace.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

Ok, here’s the thing: I normally love historical fiction and I have a special interest in WWII stories. As soon as I heard about this novel by Gavriel Savit, I just knew I had to add it to my wishlist. Unfortunately Anna And The Swallow Man didn’t seem to convince me and I honestly struggled to finish it. The idea behind this story is interesting and I liked both the linguistic references and how languages were described; they really woke the inner philologist nerd in me. That said, I found that the tone was all off and I didn’t like the prose itself. It just didn’t seem to fit the middle grade target at all… I also wasn’t convinced by the magical realism elements in Anna And The Swallow Man. I guess this ones just one of those cases were magical realism just didn’t do it for me and I don’t think the target group would be able to fully understand its meaning either. In short, while the linguistic and historical references were interesting enough, the prose and surreal elements made me enjoy this story a lot less.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Anna Lania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father in 1939 during the purge of intellectuals in Poland. Her father is a linguistics professor and has a gift for languages: he can speak many languages fluently and Anna has been a willing student. Now he is taken away, Anna is left alone. She then meets the Swallow Man. He is a complete mystery… A strange and tall man, a skilled deceiver and a language expert not unlike her father. Anna knows he is in danger of being taken as well, but the Swallow Man seems to have some tricks up his sleeve. Because when German soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see. Anna is entranced, and decides to follow the him into the wilderness.  And they encounter all kind of dangers during their travels together…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I was really looking forward to this read, but unfortunately it mostly turned out to be a disappointment. I guess that one of the dangers of reading a story with magical realism elements is that it can go both ways, and in the case of Anna And The Swallow Man it just didn’t work for me. And while I liked some of the other elements, I’m not sure if I can actually recommend this book…

6 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Anna And The Swallow Man – by Gavriel Savit

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  4. I hate it when you pick up a book you are super excited to read and it turns out to be a disappointment!
    I have noticed that a similar thing happens to me when I read books about war in general. I get excited, really interested to go through the journey but idk maybe it’s just the fact that war is such a horrible topic and my security mechanism blocks the interest or maybe I am just not meant to read war novels whatsoever. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • I normally find war stories really interesting, but in this case the magical realism element just didn’t work for me. Such a shame! War is definitely a tough topic though, so I can understand why you would want to stay away from it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

