BOOK REVIEW: A Dance With Dragons – by George R.R. Martin

bradancewithdragons

Title: A Dance With Dragons
(A Song Of Ice And Fire #5)
Author: George R.R. Martin
Genre: Fantasy
First published: July 12th 2011
Publisher: Bantam
Finished reading: August 30th 2016
Pages: 1.154
Rating 5qqq

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies, said Jojen. The man who never reads lives only one.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I can’t believe I have finally finished this monster! It has been over two years since I finished book number four and I had my doubts whether to continue the series especially since I found the fourth book so disappointing. I now know what was the problem: all my favorite characters were missing. Because I think I have never finished a A Song Of Ice And Fire book as fast as I managed to read A Dance With Dragons. Blame it on my love for Jon Snow, Tyrion Lannister, Arya, Daenerys and her dragons, but I’m pretty sure this has to be my new favorite ASOIAF book. I admit I don’t exactly remember my feelings for the first few books, mostly because it’s been quite some time since I’ve finished them. But as always the book is so much more intriguing than the TV series, and I’m glad I decided to read it before watching the latest season. And that ending! Now the long wait for the sixth book begins….

shortsummary1reviewqqq

WARNING: Possible spoilers! Please don’t read this summary if you haven’t read the previous books of this series yet. I’ll keep the summary super short but it’s impossible to keep it completely spoiler-free…

After a huge battle, Daenerys Targaryen rules with her three dragons as the queen of a city full of death and betrayal. She has thousands of enemies and many are determined to find and destroy her. And after what he did, Tyrion Lannister is also making his way east; fleeing from Westeros with a price on his head. He has new allies that might come in handy along the way… And in the frozen north, Jon Snow has to confront  both creatures from beyond the Wall and the powerful enemies within the Night’s Watch as well. Winter is coming, and people are getting more restless by the day. The dance for power begins…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I have to be honest and say I didn’t even remember I disliked the fourth book that much, that’s how long it has been since I finished it. A Dance With Dragons has to be my new favorite of the series and I managed to finish it in record time. It definitely had all my favorite characters in them as well… The ending was shocking even though I kind of already knew what was going to happen. But then again George R.R. Martin does love to kill off his characters in general.

13 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: A Dance With Dragons – by George R.R. Martin

    • Thanks! I wasn’t sure if I would be able to before starting it, but this is definitely the best book yet. I like the TV series as well, although they did make some pretty drastic changes in the plot.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  6. Nice review , now time to despair over the fact that the Winds of winter still hasn’t released … I Do admit when comparing to the fourth book this seems like a Big hit but overall there were portions in this book that i felt it simply dragged on and the story wasn’t moving anywhere , that said it was still an awesome book ,my favourite remains the 3rd book since i really didn’t see the Red wedding happening and then it did and i was stunned

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha very true! Hopefully the wait for book six won’t turn out to be years… It’s been too long since I read book three, but I agree the red wedding was a very surprising plot twist. And it was definitely better than book four. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

