BOOK REVIEW: Fallen Mangrove – by Wayne Stinnett

brfallenmangrove

Title: Fallen Mangrove
(Jesse McDermitt #4)
Author: Wayne Stinnett
Genre: Action, Thriller, Adventure
First published: September 28th  2014
Publisher: Down Island Press
Finished reading: September 1st 2016
Pages: 301
Rating 2,5qqq

“In a riddle, Charlie said as she came across the clearing, a subtle difference in wording is huge.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I got this title a long while back as a kindle freebie thinking it would be a historical fiction read about a treasure hunt. I should have read more carefully, because Fallen Mangrove has little to do with historical fiction apart from the first chapter or so. It’s actually a full blown action thriller that has a bit of a Rambo/Die Hard feeling going on. I’m not saying that’s necessarily a bad thing and I’m sure the right person would probably love this book. In fact, I think this is one of those cases where the problem most likely is me, and not the book… So I’m going to give Fallen Mangrove the benefit of the doubt. This fourth book in the Jesse McDermitt series can be read as a stand-alone; I’ve done so myself and only a few small background facts about the characters seem to be missing. It’s without doubt an action-packed story, but the many technical details did distract from the main plot and the ending felt a bit ‘weak’ after so many action scenes. I didn’t really find the plot credible either… But like I said, the right person would probably really enjoy this read.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

In September of 1566, a Spanish treasure ship is driven by a hurricane onto the rocky shoreline of Elbow Cay. A few of the crew members survived and managed to salvage most of the treasure. They decided to bury it on the island and leave a clue carved into a coconut that leads to the location of the treasure. Four-hundred and forty years later, Jesse McDermitt and his friends finally solve the riddle on the coconut and decide to look for it. But the Miami based Croatian mob learns about the treasure and want to get to it first no matter what it takes… And Jesse and his friends may be in grave danger.

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I think Fallen Mangrove is one of those books that probably works better for a male audience with all the action scenes and technical details. It sure reads like one of those popular action movies… The historical facts were interesting and I liked the idea of a treasure hunt, but I can’t say I found the plot all that credible in general. But like I said, in this case the fact that I didn’t like this read is probably my own fault. Some books just are not ment for everyone.

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Fallen Mangrove – by Wayne Stinnett

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

