ARC REVIEW: But My Family Would Never Eat Vegan! – by Kristy Turner

brbutmyfamilywouldnevereatvegan

Title: But My Family Would Never Eat Vegan!
Author: Kristy Turner

Genre: Non Fiction, Food, Cookbook
Expected Publication: November 15th 2016
Publisher: The Experiment
Finished reading: September 28th 2016
Pages: 336
Rating 4qqq

One thing to keep in mind (and to remind your family members) is that your vegan version is not going to taste like chicken (or whatever food they like and/or are expecting). Mostly because it’s not chicken. That’s the whole point.

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and The Experiment in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I have to be honest when I say is that I will probably never be a vegan. While I have been eating less meat and more vegetarian/vegan dishes during the last few years, I could never give up meat altogether (and more importantly: CHEESE!!). Still, I always love browsing vegetarian and vegan recipes, especially since I’m always trying to prepare them at least two to three days a week. But My Family Would Never Eat Vegan! turned out to be a little goldmine. Not only are the personal bits and recipe introductions hilarious, but the recipes themselves are easy to understand and follow. I’m not sure if I will be able to actually prepare all of them as some ingredients are not easy/impossible to buy down here in Argentina, but I am looking forward to try my hands on quite a few of them soon. I loved the chapter division as well; tackling a different group of ‘difficult’ relatives and friends in each one. My favorites were probably the easy weeknight solutions, ‘meat and potatoes’ eaters, kids chapter and desserts. Thank you Kirsty Turner for giving me so many new recipes to try! I will be looking forward to the reactions of my ‘guinea pigs’.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Going vegan is a highly personal decision. But once you made your choice, what happens when you dine with the rest of your family and friends? A lot of people are skeptical when it comes to vegan food and cooking vegan can present its own challenges. With this new cookbook, even the most skeptical relatives will be begging for seconds. Each chapter tackles a different group of people to convince and they all have a variety of recipes to choose from. From elaborate vegan dinners, easy weeknight solutions and special ‘child-proof’ recipes: But My Family Would Never Eat Vegan! deals with them all with easy-to-follow and delicious recipes.

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

Even though I’m not a vegan myself, I can still see myself preparing quite a few recipes mentioned in But My Family Would Never Eat Vegan! The recipes are easy to follow and most of them have ingredients that won’t be too difficult to get your hands on. The personal experiences and funny introductions to the chapters and recipes made me want to read each and every recipe. Hilarious! I also appreciated the information about different ingredients and how to prepare them in the beginning of the book. All in all definitely a cookbook to keep in mind even if you’re not a vegan.

6 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: But My Family Would Never Eat Vegan! – by Kristy Turner

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Ooh, thanks for the heads up about this one. I’m not vegan, but my husband is, so we eat vegan at home. We’re always on the look out for good cookbooks (it’s very hit and miss). If you want to try more vegan recipes, my fave cookbook that we’ve found so far is Veganomicon. Everything I’ve made from it has been delish!

    • If you are looking for easy and yummy vegan recipes, this one is definitely a little goldmine. I’m not vegan either, but I like trying out new recipes and reducing the amount of meat and dairy products I eat along the way. I will look out for Veganomicon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

