ARC REVIEW: Safe With Me – by K.L. Slater

brsafewithme

Title: Safe With Me
Author: K.L. Slater

Genre: Mystery, Thriller
First published: November 3rd 2016
Publisher: Bookouture
Finished reading: October 3rd 2016
Pages: 324
Rating 3qqq

“Sometimes my memories get a bit blurred, good and bad ones together, until it is virtually impossible to separate them. But after all, what are memories but pictures in your mind?”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Bookouture in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

As soon as I saw Safe With Me mentioned at Netgalley, I knew immediately I had to request it. I’m a big fan of the mystery/thriller genre and this psychological thriller with a twist sounded too good to be true. And it might just be that I set my expectations too high, especially since I’ve only seen positive reviews so far, but I ended up having mixed thoughts about this thriller by K.L. Slater. When I first started reading it, I was sure I was going to give it the highest possible rating like most other reviewers that have finished it so far. But as the plot twists and unlikeable characters evolved, I started having second thoughts. Everything is almost too absurd (especially during the final part of the book) and the plot just didn’t seem to be believable at all in the end. It didn’t help that I couldn’t connect to the main character Anna either; in fact, I found her rather annoying. I liked the whole amnesia angle though, and I guess Anna does make for a perfect unreliable narrator. So if you enjoy reading the genre and don’t mind an unlikeable character or two, make sure to keep Safe With Me in mind.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Anna has never been the same after what happened thirteen years ago. She now lives a solitary existence, using order and routine to keep control over her life and her emotions. She doesn’t like to let people getting to close, knowing how much damage they can do… And her only friend is the lonely old lady next door. Then her routine is suddenly disturbed as she witnesses a devastating road accident and recognises the driver as the woman who ruined her life all those years ago. It’s Anna’s chance to set things straight and finally get her revenge, but first she has to get to know the main who was injured in the accident, trying to convince him to press charges. Anna is starting to get more and more obsessed and her own secrets are starting to unravel…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

Most people seem to love this psychological thriller so the problem might just have been me, but I wasn’t fully convinced by the credibility of the plot and I couldn’t connect to the main character at all. Anna is supposed to be an unreliable narrator and I don’t mind that, but she really started to annoy me as the story developed. The amnesia angle was well done though. One final detail: the ending was supposed to be a mayor plot twist, but I actually already saw part of it coming. It was a little disappointing, but I would still recommend reading Safe With Me if you like reading psychological thrillers with unreliable narrators.

5 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Safe With Me – by K.L. Slater

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Month In Review: October 2016 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

