BOOK REVIEW: Empire Of Storms – by Sarah J. Maas

brempireofstorms

Title: Empire Of Storms
(Throne Of Glass #5)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal
First published: September 6th 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Finished reading: October 7th 2016
Pages: 704
Rating 3qqq

“The fear of loss . . . it can destroy you as much as the loss itself.”

myrambles1review

WARNING: unpopular opinion ahead. Those who follow my blog will probably already know that I really enjoyed the first four books of the Throne Of Glass series in the past. The first book had it flaws, but the other three definitely made up for those little things that bothered me. And then I read Empire Of Storms, and I’m not sure what to think about this series anymore. I kept asking myself what on earth happened to the awesomeness I had grown used to… Because this fifth book has turned out to be a mayor disappointment. The story is overlong and most characters are basically a bunch of horny teenagers that want to sleep with each other all the time. What’s with all the romance?!?! It’s almost like Empire Of Storms is written by a different person, because the change is pretty drastic. I used to love Aelin and Manon as a character, but especially Aelin has lost my respect with all the blah romance scenes and Manon was absent for way too long. Sure, there are some pretty mindblowing action scenes and the general plot is interesting enough, but I felt like it missed the spark of the previous books. I’m going to keep my fingers crossed that book 6 will be a huge improvement and that it will make up for Empire Of Storms; less romance and more epic battles and magic please! It’s going to be a long wait though, especially after that cliffhanger ending… Sigh.

shortsummary1review

WARNING: Possible spoilers! Please don’t read this summary if you haven’t read the first four books yet. I’ll keep the summary short but it’s almost impossible to keep it completely spoiler-free…

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius… The kingdoms of Erilea are fracturing around her and enemies will have to become allies if Aelin is to protect those she loves from the dark forces that want to claim her world. War is looming everywhere and the only chance for survival lies in a desperate quest that might just destory it all. Will Aelin and her friends be able to find a way to stop the dark power on time?

finalthoughtsreview

I’m not lying: I was expecting another mindblowing sequel when I picked up my copy of Empire Of Storms. Instead, I was faced with an overlong and romance-infested story that just didn’t meet the high standard of the previous sequels. The many many cliche romance scenes made me want to vomit and were basically a huge distraction from the otherwise quite interesting plot. I don’t mind long descriptions (especially since Sarah J. Maas always has excellent prose), but I kept having the feeling the story could have been a lot shorter. I will definitely still read the book 6 when it comes out next year, but I will be keeping my expectations low just to be safe…

27 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Empire Of Storms – by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  6. YESSSSSS TO ALL OF THIS!!!!!!!!! I pretty much said the same thing in my review. I also felt like SJM was just bored so she copy and pasted ACOMAF and edited the names to fit this one. There was so much unnecessary romance especially with the plot that’s going on, like really? How unrealistic is that? I didn’t even recognize these characters either. Aelin had me on my nerves so many times with her attitude and way of things. Ugh I just couldn’t deal. I was expecting so much from this one because I LOVED queen of shadows. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard that think about ACOMAF before! I haven’t actually read that one yet and I won’t be doing any time soon, since I don’t want to be pining over TWO unpublished Sarah J. Maas sequels. 😉 I’m keeping my fingers crossed she will see all the complaints about the romance and decide to leave it out of book 6… With the supposedly epic final battle, we might actually have a chance. And a lot of the new characters in Empire Of Storms were actually introduced in the novellas, which was quite annoying. I have read The Assassin’s Blade in the past, but that doesn’t mean I actually remembered all of them. And I totally agree with everything about Aelin; like I said, she has lost my respect.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Some of the characters she presented in EoS from Assassins Blade were “meh” to me if that makes sense. Like I prefer the healer than the red head chick, see I forgot her name already. I feel like Sarah made this more romance than the action packed series we’ve been getting for the past few books. Very underwhelming!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I don’t remember much of those characters either haha. And she definitely changed the whole Throne Of Glass formula drastically! I’m hoping she will reverse that change in book 6, or I probably will be VERY disappointed by that one as well. Romance was definitely not something I had signed up for… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Definitely agreed!! It’s sad that I’m not looking forward to the 6th book anymore. I think I’m going to wait till the hype for the last installment dies down to then get into it lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Book 6 is supposed to be the final one… I’m keeping my fingers crossed it will be better than Empire Of Storms. Book 2 and 4 are probably my favorites of the series so far, so I’m kind of hoping it will be an ‘even number=awesomeness’ thing haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah that might be a good thing… The long months waiting for the sequel are definitely annoying. It’s one of the reasons I decided to not continue the ACOTAR series until more books are published.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Month In Review: October 2016 | It's All About Books

  8. I wasn’t really a fan of QoS either (and if I’m honest with myself I wasn’t the biggest fan of HoF either, I was just in denial then), so I kinda gave up on the series. I read a lot of spoilers for this one since I was still curious but it doesn’t sound like my cup of tea :/ I’ve seen people call it ‘Fifty Shades of Fae’ is that accurate or an exaggeration?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha that’s awesome! I haven’t read Fifty Shades Of Grey (and I NEVER will), but from what I’ve heard of it Fifty Shades Of Fae is a more than accurate title. Empire Of Storms is basically a story with a little magic and a whole lot of horny characters wanting to sleep with each other. If you didn’t like the previous books, you will probably find this one to be even worse. Honestly in some chapters I wondered if they were actually written by Maas herself, because the change to sappy/horny romance was pretty drastic. (Some say she decided to do this because the romance in ACOMAF was such a hit, although I haven’t read that one either just yet 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

      • Totally! At points I was wondering if EoS is actually the same series with all the romance going on. I have lost my respect for Aelin by now haha. It did have a few intense action scenes, but overall it’s mostly blah.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

