WWW Wednesdays #109 – November 2nd

wwwwednesdays

WWW WEDNESDAYS is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words and is all about answering the three questions below.

  • WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

wwwnov2nd2016currently

I’m finally continuing with my last TBR jar pick The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson, and I’m definitely enjoying it a lot better than the first time I tried to start reading it. I’ve also picked up my Netgalley copy of No Excuses Detox by Megan Gilmore, which is turning out to be a really interesting read so far and I can’t wait to start trying out the recipes.

  • WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

wwwnov2nd2016finished

* I first finished The Good Sisters by Helen Phifer, which turned out to be such a great and creepy read! Definitely on the top of this year’s Halloween list; if you like a well written story with great descriptions and the right creepy atmosphere (complete with haunted convent), defiintely give this one a go. It’s brilliant!
* I then read The Scholl Case by Anja Reich-Osang, which is a true crime read about the Scholl Case where a former German mayor killed his wife. It wasn’t as good as I hoped it would be, as it focused more on the history of both the mayor and his wife and the murder case was forced into the background. The whole thing read more like a historical fiction story, and I’m not sure to what level this story can actually be called ‘non fiction’. The pace was pretty slow as well…
* I then picked up Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender, mostly because I wanted to read more Halloween related books. And I really enjoyed this one! Fast-paced and just the right dose of creepy; the perfect and entertaining read for the October month. I will definitely be continuing this series soon.
* I also decided to read Sanctum by Madeleine Roux for the same reason. I had completely forgotten how good this series was! Almost no romance, a fast pace, lots of creepy scenes and the photos are a nice touch. I really enjoyed this one and I’ve moved the third book right to the top of my TBR pile as well.
* The last book I finished was Love You To Death by Caroline Mitchell, a Netgalley read that didn’t turn out to be as good as I hoped it would be. I had a hard time getting a proper feel for the story and I wasn’t really convinced by the characters in general… Lucy (killer) had a lot of potential, but Ruby (detective) felt weak as a main character and I didn’t appreciate the romance or love triangle either.

  • WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

wwwnov2nd2016next

Next up are two of my pending Netgalley ARCs: The Power by Naomi Alderman and Anything For Her by Jack Jordan. I’m especially excited about the first title after I read Claire‘s review not that long ago and I can’t wait to start reading it. I also want to read Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo, but I need to reread Six Of Crows first so I might wait a little while longer. And my next TBR jar pick is still A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman. I’ve heard so many great things about this novel that I can’t wait to finally pick it up!

21 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #109 – November 2nd

  1. ALL your upcoming books are great 🙂
    I skim re-read Six of Crows before reading Crooked Kingdom and I’m really glad I did. Turns out there were lots of small details I’d forgotten from book 1!
    I’m SO excited you’ll be reading The Power soon and I’ll finally have someone to talk to about it 🙂
    Another week when I didn’t have time to put up a WWW post 😦 But hopefully back next week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m definitely rereading Six Of Crows before I read Crooked Kingdom… It’s been too long and I don’t remember all the little details either. And your review was the reason I requested it at Netgalley, so I’m stoked that they decided to approve it. I will read it this month without fail. Hopefully you will have more spare time soon! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I actually requested my copy based on her review since we normally have a similar taste in books, so I’m really looking forward to it. And like you I’ve heard great things about Fredrik Backman as well! Happy reading

      Liked by 1 person

    • Good to hear you enjoyed A Man Called Ove! I’m definitely planning on reading it soon. And The Unexpected Everything wasn’t really for me, but it’s without doubt a great contemporary read.

      Like

  2. Glad to hear you’re enjoying The Unexpected Everything. I really want to read it! I have all of Matson’s books and I need to read them all! I really enjoyed Sanctum as well. I did hope there would be a lot more creepier pictures like Asylum had, but it was still good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s without doubt a great contemporary read (even thought it wasn’t really for me). I’ve had her books on my TBR pile for ages, especially Since You’ve Been Gone, but somehow I ended up reading the newest story first haha. And I agree about the lack of creepy pictures in Sanctum! That would definitely have made the book even better.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

