ARC REVIEW: Love You To Death – by Caroline Mitchell

brloveyoutodeath

Title: Love You To Death
(Detective Ruby Preston #1)
Author: Caroline Mitchell

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Crime
First published: November 11th 2016
Publisher: Bookouture
Finished reading: October 30th 2016
Pages: 315
Rating 3qqq

“She lived and breathed the streets, and would lay her neck on the line to protect its occupants. But how did she tell an idealist that the world was not black and white?”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Bookouture in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I’ve heard great things about Caroline Mitchell‘s books, so when I saw Love You To Death mentioned at Netgalley, I just HAD to request it. I had high expectations for this crime thriller, but unfortunately the story didn’t turned out to be as good as I thought it would be. I have been reading a lot of detective series lately and Love You To Death doesn’t really stand out from the rest. I know I’m in the minority when it comes to my opinion since most of the reviews I’ve seen are really positive, but it seems like I had a completely different experience. I had a hard time getting a proper feel for the story and the first part was a bit slow. That might just be because the POV switch between chapters was a bit confusing in the beginning though. That said, the plot and plot twists are great and Lucy has a lot of potential. She sure has a very twisted mind! I wasn’t really convinced by most of the other characters though. Especially Ruby felt a bit weak as a main character and I had a hard time warming up to her. Nathan’s role in the story makes for a nice twist, although I didn’t really appreciate the romance OR love triangle. In short, while not perfect, Love You To Death offers without doubt still quite an entertaining story with a very promising plot. And I definitely wouldn’t say no to reading the sequel either.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Detective Ruby Preston and her team are called in after a body was found. And what seems to be an easy case, soon turns out into something a whole lot more complicated… And it seems like they are having a serial killer on the loose. Ruby and her team will have to find out who is to blame before the killer can strike again, but that’s easier said than done. The killer seems to be targetting women who gave up a child for adoption, but it’s a race against the clock to connect the dots on time. And when Ruby receives a sinister email, the case takes a terrifying personal twist… Will she be able to find the killer on time? And what secrets does she hide herself?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

The general plot and plot twists are without doubt excellent and the killer has a lot of potential as a character. Lucy is the perfect ‘crazy’ serial killer and without doubt carries a healthy dose of creepy with her. I actually liked her better as a character than detective Ruby, is that weird? The Ruby chapters are not as strong as Lucy’s, mostly because of the romance/love triangle and the fact that I found her a bit weak as a main character. Aside from that, Love You To Death is still a solid thriller.

11 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Love You To Death – by Caroline Mitchell

  1. That’s funny I was just thinking about how everyone seems to love this book! It’s always a relief to see an okay rating, it means it’s a real book, not a fantasy 5* books for everyone! I did not request it because of my ban but I’m dying to read something from the author, the general opinion on her books is very good.

    • Yeah I know what you mean. Every time I see a book with only the highest rating I’m starting to suspect they are overhyped. 😉 I have heard great things about her work as well and I have actually requested her other novel Witness not that long ago. I wish I had the strength to go on a ban as well, because I’m drowning in a pool of ARCs right now…

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  6. I have just started reading this book. I have seen a number of reviews around and everyone seems to like it and there is so much praise for Lucy(glad you mentioned liking her too). I think that I will end up feeling the same way that you do about the book. I do like a good serial killer though:-)

  7. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

