ARC REVIEW: Before You Leap – by Keith Houghton

brbeforeyouleap

Title: Before You Leap
Author: Keith Houghton

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction
First published: November 1st 2016
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Finished reading: November 9th 2016
Pages: 302
Rating 3qqq

“Well-wishers will tell you that wounds heal over time. Don’t believe them. The only thing time heals is other people’s memories.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Thomas & Mercer in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I have to admit I couldn’t believe my eyes when I received a message from Netgalley that they granted my wish and sent me a copy of Before You Leap. I’ve wanted to read this title ever since I first heard about it, so I’m glad I was given the chance to do so. Unfortunately, I did end up having mixed thoughts about this novel by Keith Houghton. It is without doubt a very interesting psychological thriller and I liked the general plot, but it wasn’t all good.  First of all, the prologue is a quite confusing and it took a long time before it started to make sense. I feel the start of Before You Leap would have been a lot stronger without the prologue, because it kind of feels more like a ‘filler’ than something that adds a little extra to the story. I liked the prose and creative descriptions, but the plot twists were all over the place. Some of the twists definitely add the right amount of suspense to the story, but others were a bit farfetched. The ending was quite predictable, maybe even disappointing, and Greg’s character development wasn’t that strong either. That said, I still managed to enjoy most of the story, and fans of the genre will most likely do so as well.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Greg Cole hasn’t been the same since the murder of his twin sister, Scarlett. He escapes his old town and tries to start a new life in Florida. For years he seems to have succeeded, but old wounds are reopened when Scarlett’s killer is released early from prison with a cast-iron alibi. Greg realized his past is about to come back to haunt him. As a talk therapist, Greg knows all about dark secrets and he is not sure up to what point he can actually trust his own memories. His life is starting to come apart and he is starting to loose his grip on reality… Will Greg discover the truth before it’s too late?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

While Before You Leap without doubt has a lot of potential, I did have a few problems with it. The prose and general plot are without doubt intriguing and I liked the psychological twist as well, but unfortunately the prologue and beginning were quite confusing and it took me a while to properly understand what was going on. The plot twists in especially the second half were a bit weak and the ending wasn’t as strong as I thought it would be. It’s still an entertaining read though for those who enjoy the genre.

11 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Before You Leap – by Keith Houghton

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  5. Sounds like that first half of the book is quite messy and hard to follow. Sucks that this is actually something that seems to be shared by other readers (points at Kim @ By Hook Or By Book :P). Nice review.

    – Lashaan

    • Yeah I read her review earlier and it seems like we had similar problems with this book… There have been positive review as well though, so I guess it also depends as well how critical each reviewer looked at the story.

  6. Sad that the prologue hurt the story instead of adding to the intrigue. Sorry this one didn’t quite work out for you though. I like what you wrote in the first paragraph. It always feels great when you get approved for books that you didn’t know whether you would get. Its kind like getting a gift.

    • Sometimes books just don’t live up to expectations… It’s a shame though, because I was looking forward to it. And it’s true; it did kind of feel like Christmas came early when I received that email!

  7. Pingback: Month In Review: November 2016 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

