BOOK REVIEW: It Ends With Us – by Colleen Hoover

britendswithus

Title: It Ends With Us
Author: Colleen Hoover

Genre: Contemporary, Romance
First published: August 2nd 2016
Publisher: Atria Books
Finished reading: November 12th 2016
Pages: 367
Rating 5qqq

“All humans make mistakes. What determines a person’s character aren’t the mistakes we make. It’s how we take those mistakes and turn them into lessons rather than excuses.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

Colleen Hoover has done it again! Those who know me are already aware of my not-so-good relationship with the romance genre, but this author has convinced me yet again I can actually enjoy romance when it’s done right. I seem to be having a love-hate relationship with CoHo‘s work, but that doesn’t take away I did LOVE November 9 last year. I decided to give It Ends With Us a go after seeing nothing but raving reviews everywhere, and those reviews were absolutely right. This title just became the second 5 star CoHo book on my list, and that is no small achievement for a genre I normally tend to avoid. Why is It Ends With Us so brilliant that it deserves the highest rating? First of all, there is no denying the fact that Colleen Hoover is a master in creating realistic and believable characters that you can easily relate to. It Ends With Us is filled with strong characters, and on top of that it’s an exceptionally well written story with an intriguing plot. This novel isn’t just another fluffy contemporary romance story either. Instead it deals with a very important and probably very sensitive topic: (abuse). It’s not an easy topic to write about, but the author has done an excellent job of describing it realistically. Have I managed to convince you to read It Ends With Us yet? I certainly hope so, because it was hands down one of the best books I’ve read this year.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Lily hasn’t always had an easy life, but that has never stopped her from trying to find a way to succeed in life. She managed to escape the small town in Main where she grew up in and after graduating from college she decided to move to Boston. She first started to work at a firm, but then someone inspired her to follow her dream to start her own business. And that is not the only positive thing that is happening in Lily’s life… When she feels a spark with the gorgeous neurosurgeon Ryle Kincaid, everything seems almost too good to be true. Sure, he doesn’t do relationships and might be stubborn and even a bit arrogant. But Ryle seems to have a soft spot for Lily and she is having a hard time to resist… But is he really who Lily thinks he is?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I’m having a hard time writing a proper review for this one without it sounding like I’m just blabbering all over the place, but It Ends With Us is just THAT good. Forget the fact that I’m normally not a fan of romance. Forget the fact that I normally detest love triangles. This book is simply brilliant! Realistic and strong characters (Lily is such an awesome character), extremely well written prose and intriguing plot… It Ends With Us just has it all.

26 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: It Ends With Us – by Colleen Hoover

  1. Wonderful review. I love this book and I am so glad that you do too. Its definitely a wonderful, emotional, powerful read and the epilogue by Hoover was intense and it added to the strength of the book. I agree with about the characters and the plot and yes, everyone should read this book

    Liked by 1 person

    • I loved both November 9 and It Ends With Us, so I’m having very high hopes for her next book as well… I think this one is probably my favorite CoHo book to this date.

      Like

  2. Excellent review! I know we just chatted about this book but your review has sealed the deal…I’m adding it to my TBR at the top! I’m super curious about this book and have to see what all these wonderful reviews are about:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  7. I love reading how enthusiastic you are about this book. I haven’t read it yet but I don’t need any convincing either, I loved every one of her books (not talking about NeverNever but that’s co-authorship) and I’m not the biggest romance lover either ;-). She’s one of the few authors that can really make me ‘feel’ for the characters and get me emotional. That doesn’t happen very much. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally agree; Colleen Hoover is probably one of the few authors that can actually convince me to pick up a romance novel. If you liked her other books, you will probably love It Ends With Us as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Month In Review: November 2016 | It's All About Books

  9. Pingback: BEST OF 2016: TOP 5 Fiction | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

