ARC REVIEW: The Power – by Naomi Alderman

brthepower

Title: The Power
Author: Naomi Alderman

Genre: Science Fiction, Speculative Fiction
First published: October 27th 2016
Publisher: Viking
Finished reading: November 14th 2016
Pages: 288
Rating 4qqq

“The truth has always been a more complex commodity than the market can easily package and sell.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Viking in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I requested a copy of this book 100% based on Claire‘s review last month, knowing I most likely wouldn’t regret it since we seem to like the same books in the first place. And I wasn’t disappointed. The Power turned out to be just as strong as she had promised in her review and I can fully agree that this story by Naomi Alderman is without doubt a perfect book club read. It’s a story that will stay for you for a long time; it’s been two weeks since I finished it and I’m still having difficulties putting my thoughts together somewhat coherently. I don’t want to go too much into details to avoid possible spoilers, but the message behind The Power (please forgive the pun!) is just that: POWERFUL. It’s a truly unique and clever example of speculative and science fiction at its best and the story will most likely surprise you. The prose is strong and the plot and plot twists are interesting enough, although the general idea behind this book is by far its strongest feature. Because while the characters might not be that memorable after a few weeks, I’m sure you won’t forget about the essence and underlying message of The Power for a long time. I know I didn’t! This book can lead to some interesting discussions, and I’m personally really curious about how male readers would interprete its message. Recommended!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

The world described in The Power is recognizable enough to our own world, but something vital has changed. Suddenly, teenage girls have immense physical power and they can cause agonising pain and even death. The leading powers around the world don’t know how to react to this sudden change in power, and will soon find out how much this small twist of nature will truly affect the world as they know it.

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I’m glad I was pointed out to this title, because it is without doubt a powerful story that will stay with me for a long time. Naomi Alderman writes about an alternative world, but it’s one still painfully close to our own and it makes you wonder about the true power of… well… power. I don’t want to reveal too much about the plot because I’m afraid it will ruin the surprise, but I can definitely suggest reading The Power if you have the chance!

9 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: The Power – by Naomi Alderman

  1. I’m SO glad this is how you felt about it. I’d have felt really bad if you’d hated it!
    Completely agree about the characters becoming forgettable over time but the message staying with you. And I would LOVE to hear from men who have read this because I’m sure their experience would be very different 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know! I’m curious if they feel ‘threatened’ by both the idea of women taking control and having this kind of power…Or what they think of those men trying to cut out the skein so they can have this kind of power themselves. And a whole bunch of other questions as well; it would be so interesting to talk about gender perception in relation to this story. Fingers crossed a male blogger will be convinced to pick it up soon. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  6. I have to recommend this to my book club. I saw Claire mention it on her WWW and she also mentioned that it will be a good book-club pick. I hope my book club agrees to read and review this. Wonderful review Yvo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Month In Review: November 2016 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

