WWW Wednesdays #113 – November 30th

wwwwednesdays

WWW WEDNESDAYS is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words and is all about answering the three questions below.

  • WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

wwwnov30th2016currently

I’m currently trying to finish Another Day Gone by Eliza Graham before the end of today, although I’m not sure if I will actually be able to since it’s still early days when it comes to my progress. I guess part of the problem is that I’m not sure if I’m actually in the mood for historical fiction right now… That and my Crooked Kingdom book hangover.

  • WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

wwwnov30th2016finished

* I first reread Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo in anticipation of the second book in this duology. I loved it just as much the second time around! This one is without doubt my all time favorite Bardugo and among my favorite YA fantasy books as well.
* I then finished reading While You Were Sleeping by Kathryn Croft, which turned out to be a good enough read. I admit it wasn’t as good as I was expecting and part of the plot and plot twists were either farfetched or even a bit predictable. The ending was a surprise, although I’m not sure I actually liked it. Also, the characters were not exactly likeable.
* Next up is my very first audiobook experience with Secondhand Smoke by M. Louis. I’ve tried my hands at audiobooks in the past, but could never actually get into the voices that told the stories. I was offered a copy of this one, and I ended up enjoying the whole experience a lot better than I thought I would. The story is full of action and plot twists, and the characters are without doubt interesting. Could have done without the romance and wasn’t sure about the ending, but overall it is without doubt a very entertaining story. It also worked perfectly as an audiobook and I was able to multitask while listening to it. I’m not sure I will switch to audiobooks any time soon, but one or two every once in a while have become way more tempting.
* Next up was one of the Goodreads Choice Awards finalists: The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison. And boy I definitely got more than what I had expected! This book is mentioned in the horror genre for a good reason, because this is without doubt one sick and messed up story. I will never look at my butterfly tattoo in the same way again… The story is well written, although the beginning and ending are a lot stronger than the middle part. In fact, the pace slowed down considerably and it took me longer than imagined to finish it. I’m not sure all of it is believable (for example: why don’t those girls ever fight back??!!), but it is without doubt one hell of a horror story. And it definitely isn’t one for the weakhearted…
* I also read His Kidnapper’s Shoes by Maggie James, which turned out to be another interesting psychological thriller with an interesting twist. The character development is probably the most interesting part of this story, as we see how both the kidnapper and her ‘son’ evolve over time and deal with their lives. The story switches between past and present and touches some very sensitive topics; you’ve been warned.
* And the last book I finished since last week is Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. I’m not sure if it was just because my expectations were set too high, but while I thoroughly enjoyed reading this sequel I don’t think it’s actually as good as the first book. Sure, I loved the characters and the twists and I no doubt have a small book hangover after finishing it. But it missed the spark of Six Of Crows. That doesn’t take away I’m sad to say goodbye to these characters…

  • WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

wwwnov30th2016next

I  want to try and read my very first Reading Alley ARC next: Tipping Point by Tomas Byrne. I also have another Netgalley ARC pending (sooo close to the 80% now!) The Killing Game by J.S. Carol. I’ve heard great things about it, so I’m looking forward to finally picking it up. I also want to finally dive into This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab. I have loved everything written by this woman so far this year, so I honestly don’t understand what’s taking me so long. Lastly, my newest TBR jar pick is still Little Women by Louise May Alcott.

24 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #113 – November 30th

    • I’m looking forward to it! And His Kidnapper’s Shoes is without doubt an interesting psychological thriller. The kidnapper/kidnapped kid&adult angle is refreshing. Happy reading!

      Like

  1. Completely agree about Crooked Kingdom. It was so good, but still didn’t beat Six of Crows, which was mind-alteringly good! 🙂 I think I was hoping for more from the ending of Crooked Kingdom too…. oh well. Hopefully the characters will all pop up again in future stories.

    I’m keeping everything crossed you enjoy This Savage Song. I thought it was great. Not as brilliant as the Shades of Magic books, but still excellent.

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/11/30/www-wednesday-30th-november-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

    • The ending of Crooked Kingdom was kind of abrupt? Also, I was completely shocked by how she wrapped up some of the characters. I still love Bardugo’s writing though, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed the characters will pop up in another story some time.

      And I need to get to This Savage Song ASAP! I can’t believe I have been posponing it for this long.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like you’ve been very busy in the reading department 🙂
    Sorry to hear that Crooked Kingdom failed to match Six of Crows, but I’m glad it was still enjoyable. I’ll keep that in mind when I head into the series. Butterfly Garden sounds intriguing. I think I’ll have to give it a try.
    I’m hoping to read Little Women this December. It’s been a while since I read it and I feel like it’s a great Christmas read! I hope you enjoy it 🙂
    Happy Reading!
    https://aliasfaithrivens.wordpress.com/2016/11/30/www-wednesday-30-11-16/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Crooked Kingdom was without doubt a great read, but Six Of Crows was just so good that it’s hard to live up to it. The best part is that it’s a duology though; I’m sad to say goodbye to the characters, but at least there is no endless waiting for more sequels. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • I guess the secret is that at least two or three of them were already almost finished when I wrote last weeks WWW . 😉 I’m looking forward to both reads, although I do seem to be suffering of a thriller overdose after all those Netgalley ARCs haha. Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really need to read Six of Crows! I’ve had it since release day and never got around to it. I think I will make it a point to read it next year for sure! I haven’t ever read a Victoria Schwab book, but I have all of her books either physical copy or ebook. I should definitely get to reading her stuff! I hope you enjoy all of your upcoming reads!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s official, I’m the last breathing person who hasn’t read Six of Crows yet 😂 I keep reading While You Were Asleep is okay but not as good as the blurb promised. I hope I won’t be too disappointed when I read it, but I’m happy I did not ask for an ARC. I love the sound of His Kidnapper’s Shoes! I did not know this book, it goes straight to my wish list!
    I stared at my 60% NetGalley ratio this morning before requesting a book I’ve been dying to read, and my heart hurt xD

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard other people saying they haven’t read Six Of Crows yet, so you’re not alone. 😉 It’s definitely worth it though! And I hope you will enjoy While You Were Asleep better than I did.
      I’m having a love-hate relationship with my Netgalley ratio… Every time it’s 70 or above, I start requesting new books. Either that or suddenly a wish is granted. (Which I didn’t think was possible, but it happened twice already). The only advantage is that with more books it will be easier to maintain ratio and request books in the future. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

