ARC REVIEW: While You Were Sleeping – by Kathryn Croft

brwhileyouweresleeping

Title: While You Were Sleeping
Author: Kathryn Croft

Genre: Thriller, Mystery
First published: November 16th 2016
Publisher: Bookouture
Finished reading: November 23rd 2016
Pages: 296
Rating 3,5qqq

“Lies and secrets are only ticking time bombs, waiting for the moment they can wreak the most havoc.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Bookouture in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I always enjoy a good thriller and I had heard great things about While You Were Sleeping and Kathryn Croft‘s work in general, so it was an easy choice. And I agree the story had without doubt an interesting premise and a lot of potential, but I don’t think it actually lived up to my expectations. I’m not saying it’s a bad read and fans of the genre will probably enjoy reading this psychological thriller. While You Were Sleeping started out strong and the mystery around Lee’s death is without doubt intriguing. That said, I did find part of the plot and plot twists either too farfetched or quite predictable. It made me enjoy the story less than I was anticipating, and the unlikeable characters didn’t really help either. Another thing that slightly bothered me was the unnecessary romance. I understand it was probably done to add a little suspense and more suspects to the case, but I found it distracting instead. Predictable plot twists or not, the ending was definitely a surprise. I’m not sure I was happy with it though… But I guess anyone who enjoys reading psychological thrillers will find While You Were Sleeping an entertaining read anyway. It does have a fast pace!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Tara Logan has quite an ordinary life with her husband Noah and their two children Rosie and Spencer. That all changes when one morning Tara wakes up in her neigbor Lee’s bed with no memory of how she got there or what happened the night before… The worst part: he has been stabbed to death and there is blood all over the place. Tara panics and flees the scene. She is convinced she didn’t kill Lee, and decides to stay silent fearing her family will be torn apart if the truth comes out. But things are getting out of control anyway, and it seems like the truth might hit closer home than she thinks…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

While You Were Sleeping had a very promising start and in general it is without doubt a fast-paced and entertaining psychological thriller. I had a few minor problems with it, especially with the unlikeable characters, some of the plot twists and the unnecessary romance, but that doesn’t take away the case is quite interesting. Not perfect, but without doubt an entertaining read with a surprising ending.

10 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: While You Were Sleeping – by Kathryn Croft

  1. I have heard the book doesn’t make use of all its potential, it’s a shame. I’m happy you enjoyed it despite the story’s flaws. I bought rather than requested it because of a gut feeling, it’s on my TBR but just not at the top 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Month In Review: November 2016 | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

