BOOK REVIEW: Crooked Kingdom – by Leigh Bardugo

brcrookedkingdome

Title: Crooked Kingdom
(Six Of Crows #2)
Author: Leigh Bardugo

Genre: YA, Fantasy
First published: September 27th 2016
Publisher: Orion Children’s Books
Finished reading: November 29th 2016
Pages: 536
Rating 4qqq

“Fear is a phoenix. You can watch it burn a thousand times and still it will return.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

Six Of  Crows was by far one of my favorite reads last year, and I have been highly anticipating the sequel ever since. But somehow, when Crooked Kingdom was finally published in September, I held back. I was expecting the world of this book, and I started to wonder: what if it isn’t as good as the first book? What if it suffers from the so-called ‘weak-sequel-syndrome’? What if I’m not ready to say goodbye to the characters? I posponed and posponed and it soon became embarrasing. I needed to read this book I was so looking forward to! And I’m glad I did. I don’t think it actually lives up to the excellence of Six Of Crows, but it is kind of hard to beat that quality in the first place. There is no doubt I thoroughly enjoyed this sequel and Leigh Bardugo‘s writing is just as brilliant as ever. It was so good reading about my favorite characters again ans the plot twists are again excellent. I did feel the ending was a bit rushed though… And why did she have to go George R.R. Martin on me?! I still have a small book hangover from Crooked Kingdom and it was sad to say goodbye to the characters. That said, I did feel it missed the spark of Six Of Crows.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

WARNING: Possible spoilers! Please don’t read this summary if you haven’t read the first book yet. I’ll keep the summary super short but it’s impossible to keep it completely spoiler-free…

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just done the unthinkable and pulled of a heist so dangerous they didn’t think they would survive. But when they arrive home things didn’t go as planned, and instead of enjoying their reward they end up right where they started and fighting for their lives. The crew has been double-crossed and after the kidnapping of a valuable member, they will have to find a way to strike back and pull off a rescue as well. That’s not their only problem, as leaders around the world travel to Ketterdam to find out more about the dangerous drug known as jurda parem… Will they be able to do the impossible once more?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

Leigh Bardugo is without doubt one of my favorite authors. Brilliant prose, excellent worldbuilding and character development, a lot of action, not too many romance scenes… It’s basically what I’m always looking for in a good story. Six Of Crows is without doubt my absolute favorite of her work, and its characters are on my all time favorite list as well. And while Crooked Kingdom wasn’t as good as the first book, I loved every single minute of it anyway. Well, except for the rushed ending and a plot twist I couldn’t understand in the end. I can’t go into details, but those who read it will understand. My heart literally almost stopped when I read those pages… If you haven’t read this duology yet, I can definitely recommend it! You won’t regret it.

7 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Crooked Kingdom – by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

