BOOK REVIEW: The Strange Case Of Dr. Jekyll And Mr. Hyde – by Robert Louis Stevenson

brthestrangecaseofdrjekyllandmrhyde

Title: The Strange Case Of Dr. Jekyll And Mr. Hyde
Author: Robert Louis Stevenson

Genre: Classics, Science Fiction, Horror
First published: January 5th 1886
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Finished reading: December 4th 2016
Pages: 96
Rating 3qqq

“I learned to recognise the thorough and primitive duality of man; I saw that, of the two natures that contended in the field of my consciousness, even if I could rightly be said to be either, it was only because I was radically both.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I’m ashamed to admit I have been mostly neglecting the classics this year, and I made a promise to myself to at least read a few before the end of 2016. It was the perfect time to read one of my pending classics on my kindle: The Strange Case Of Dr. Jekyll And Mr. Hyde. I was only vaguely familiar with the story, but this is the first time I’m actually reading the original version of this story. I had a bad experience reading another of Robert Louis Stevenson‘s books, Treasure Island, but luckily I found this classic to be a lot more enjoyable to read. Sure, it took me a while to get into the story, but the second half of Dr. Jekyll And Mr. Hyde was without doubt very entertaining. There is an interesting concept and message behind this story that will definitely make you think. I don’t think it’s my favorite classic ever, but I enjoyed it a lot better than I thought I would.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Dr. Jekyll has discovered the ultimate drug; a chemical that can separate good from evil and turn him into something else. The sinister Mr. Hyde is born, and is causing trouble all over the city. People wonder who Mr. Hyde is and why Dr. Jekyll would want to interact with such a shady character. But they do not know about the doctor’s secret… Will Jekyll be able to keep Hyde under control?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I think most people are probably already aware of what this story is about, especially since so many references to it have been made ever since it was published back in the 19th century. The Strange Case Of Dr. Jekyll And Mr. Hyde has an interesting concept and especially the second half is quite enjoyable to read. It took me a while to get into the story though… And I don’t think I will be rereading it any time soon.

14 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Strange Case Of Dr. Jekyll And Mr. Hyde – by Robert Louis Stevenson

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Sorry this one came up a bit short for you. I find that listening to classics via audiobook usually works out better for me personally. Most of them have fantastic narrators and it can make a slower paced book more enjoyable!

    • That’s definitely great advice! I’m actually listening to Wuthering Heights right now and although I haven’t tried the physical copy yet, I’m really enjoying it so far. I might try and get an audiobook version of this one at some point as well…

      • Wuthering Heights is one of my favorite classics! I’ve never listened to the audiobook version though!!! I obviously must change that. WH is definitely not a cheerful book, so maybe I’ll try after Christmas lol

      • Yeah, it’s definitely not the most cheerful story, but I’m enjoying it so much more than I thought I would so far! I will probably read the physical version some time next year as well though.

  6. Pingback: Month In Review: December 2016 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

