BOOK REVIEW: This Savage Song – by V.E. Schwab

brthissavagesong

Title: This Savage Song
(Monsters Of Verity #1)
Author: Victoria (V.E.) Schwab

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Dystopia
First published: June 7th 2016
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Finished reading: December 5th 2016
Pages: 464
Rating 5qqq

“I mean, most people want to escape. Get out of their heads. Out of their lives. Stories are the easiest way to do that.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I think I have mentioned my love for Victoria (V.E.) Schwab‘s books once or twice already this year, and I still don’t know what took me so long to finally pick up this copy of her newest novel and first book of a new series This Savage Song. People kept telling me I should just read this one and that I would love it as much as the other books I had already read, and they were totally right. A Darker Shade Of Magic is still my absolute Schwab favorite, but this one came in a close second! Brilliant, just brilliant. The prose is just excellent and I love LOVE the worldbuilding. Like in Shades Of Magic, the worldbuilding isn’t all that complicated, but this simplicity just WORKS. The idea of Verity with its three types of monsters is intriguing, and I LOVED the main characters August and Kate. Both the dynamics between the characters and their development is very well done and I can’t wait to read the sequel next year. It’s going to be a long wait for sure… V.E. Schwab has definitely proven to be worthy to be in my TOP 10 of all time favorite authors!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

The world has become a dangerous place and the the violence in the city of Verity has begun to breed actual monsters. Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to this divided city… And they are both in danger. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who has made a deal with the monsters and makes the humans pay for his protection. And all August wants is to be human and play a bigger role in protecting the innocent, but he is actually one of the monsters. The two finally meet as August is giving the task to keep an eye on Kate, who has just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned to the city. Nobody can know about his secret, but it’s a hard one to keep…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I have to admit I’m having a hard time writing something coherent about this book. I feel like a fangirl blabbering all over the place, but This Savage Song is just THAT good. The worldbuilding is quite simply, but excellently done and it makes it really easy to just dive into this story and relate to the main characters. Both Kate and August are well developed and I loved their characters, although August is my absolute favorite. I love the idea of the different monsters and the plot is excellent as well… The story doesn’t end with that big of a cliffhanger either, but I will definitely be waiting impatiently for the second book. It looks like it will be a duology, so I will be rereading this little masterpiece before the sequel next year. And in case you haven’t guessed it yet, I can more than recommend this book!

20 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: This Savage Song – by V.E. Schwab

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. It’s great, isn’t it! I found myself able to sing the little song about the monsters for weeks (yes, I made up my own tune!). Can’t wait to see what happens next. Although, to be honest, I’m slightly more excited about A Conjuring of Light because I love Kell and hope it all turns out ok for him and he finally gets a holiday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s awesome! I loved that little song as well, and I’m already looking forward to reread it next year before the sequel is published. But you are right, I’m even more excited about A Conjuring Of Light being published soon. Shades Of Magic is still my favorite series and I love Kell’s character as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • In a way I wish I would have investigated the series before reading, because I didn’t know it was only going to be a duology. It’s definitely worth the wait and read both books next year, although luckily This Savage Song doesn’t end with too big of a cliffhanger.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. So glad to hear you loved it. I too was truly impressed by this young adult debut. I haven’t yet read any of her other books, but I knew after this that reading them was only a matter of time! 😛 Good review! 🙂

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Month In Review: December 2016 | It's All About Books

  8. Pingback: BEST OF 2016: TOP 5 Sci-Fi/Fantasy | It's All About Books

  9. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays #154 – September 13th | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

