WWW Wednesdays #115 – December 14th

wwwwednesdays

WWW WEDNESDAYS is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words and is all about answering the three questions below.

  • WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

wwwdec14th2016currently

  • I’ve actually just decided I will be DNFing Tipping Point by Tomas Byrne. It was taking me way longer than expected to finish it because of the slow pace and the fact that I feel this story simply isn’t for me. I’m having a hard time to stay focused on the story, and I’ve decided to no longer force myself to continue. I’ve also started my second audiobook ever and a classic: Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. I’m about 3 hours into the story right now and I still have 10 hours left… I’m liking it better than I thought I would so far and I’m going to keep my fingers crossed I will be able to finish it before the end of this year. I’m also still only a few pages into The Picture Of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde, but I’m hoping to change that today or tomorrow.
  • WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

wwwdec14th2016finished

* The first book I finished is Kill The Next One by Federico Axat, which was a very interesting psychological thriller with a lot of plot twists. The memory loss is an interesting twist that makes the story a lot more original, but I do have to admit I found things to be a bit too weird at some points. It took me a little while to fully understand what was going on, and that took away a little of the reading pleasure. It’s still an interesting read though.
* I then picked up Catacomb by Madeleine Roux, mostly because that way I would be able to finish my fifth and final series this year. It turned out to be another fast-paced and entertaining horror read and a great ending to this series. The photos are a nice twist as always, although they are yet again not as strong as in the first book. I don’t think I will read the novellas, but the three books of this trilogy I can definitely recommend.
* The last book I was able to finish is Walk Into Silence by Susan McBride. It’s without doubt a fast-paced and well written psychological thriller and a new series that will be on my radar for sure. The main character and detective is a bit of a cliche, but the case they are investigating is interesting enough and there are a lot of plot twists involved.

  • WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

wwwdec14th2016next

I’m trying to read more books published before 2000 to finish a pending challenge, so I might read Rubyfruit Jungle by Rita Mae Brown next. I also need to read both Netgalley ARCs Down The Rabbit Hole by Julia Crane and From Sand And Ash by Amy Harmon soon…. And my newest TBR jar pick is still Little Women by Louise May Alcott., which I will probably pick up closer to Christmas.

28 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #115 – December 14th

    • I guess this is me catching up on the classics I was supposed to read earlier this year haha. The Picture Of Dorian Gray is really easy to read for a classic and I’m really enjoying it so far! Definitely worth the try.

      Like

    • I haven’t read that many classics either… In fact, I only started to read more after I created my blog. They can be really interesting reads, but you do have to be in the right mood to actually enjoy them.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow, what a selection! Sorry to hear about the DNF, but yay for knowing when to stop. I’ve never read The Picture of Dorian Gray or Wuthering Heights and always wonder how age treats them and if there is anything besides time behind their popularity. Idk, I’m always afraid of the disconnect.

    Gotta love the psychological thrillers though 🙂

    Happy Wednesday!

    A Week In Review #15, WWW #11 – http://wp.me/p4mJnf-1Fp

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s still really hard to make the decision to DNF, but I made a promise to myself this year I would no longer continue books I really don’t have an interest in. This is my third DNF this year out of 185 books, so it’s not too bad at all. 😉

      I’m having mixed experiences reading classics, but I’m enjoying both The Picture Of Dorian Gray and Wuthering Heights so far. Especially the first is so easy to read; it really surprised me! I’m looking forward to change genres a bit after finishing the classics though.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m enjoying it so much more than I thought I would! I’m having the feeling I will be adding it to my list of favorite classics. Happy reading and thanks for hosting!

      Like

  2. I read Wuthering Heights when I was in high school and also enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would. I tend to really struggle through classics, but that’s one of the few that I read with no problem. I read Asylum back in October and have been wanting to read the rest of the books. I’m kind of hoping someone will buy me the other books for Christmas, but I doubt that will happen haha I gave way too many suggestions for books for people to buy me hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m having mixed experiences with classics as well, but both Wuthering Heights and The Picture Of Dorian Gray are turning out to be exceptions. I’m really enjoying both stories so far!
      And I can totally relate to the book suggestions! If people would have to buy all the books I want I would probably end up being buried under a huge pile of books haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s good to hear! I’ve been thinking about trying The Picture of Dorian Gray next time I’m feeling brave enough to tackle a classic haha
        I’m already buried under my TBR pile. Christmas is just going to make it worse hahaha

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s definitely an ‘easy’ and entertaining read for a classic… I was more than pleasantly surprised by it, and a lot of people seem to love it. I know what you mean with the TBR pile though; I think my kindle is about to explode with all the unread books and ARCs on it haha.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

