2017 Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge

I only signed up at Netgalley about six months ago, but I have really been enjoying my experience so far. Friendly publishers (an especial shout out to Bookouture!) have shown me I don’t need to have thousands of followers or need to live in the UK/US to be able to receive ARCs of some pretty darn good books. And the only thing I might regret is that I didn’t sign up sooner!!

netgalleyitsallaboutbooks

That said, like most Netgalley users, I tend to go a little crazy with the request button and getting to the mythical 80% ratio has been a struggle. So when I saw this 2017 Netgalley challenge at Bookish Things & More I just HAD to join. It’s a year long challenge that will hopefully inspire me to pay closer attention to the ARCs I request and read more of them as well… There are different levels, but I will be aiming for the following goal:

 

Silver – 25 Books

In the six months since I’ve joined this year, I managed to review 40 titles and I have another 12 ARCs pending, so I think this number should be pretty doable.


I will be looking forward to this challenge! Is anyone else joining? And what is your personal experience with Netgalley?

 

15 thoughts on “2017 Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge

  1. That’s too much stress for me so I’m going to pass for the (any) challenge but I really like Netgalley too! I’ve got 5 books pending I think and I’m not going to sign up for any more before I’ve done these (even though Bookouture always tries to lure me over). I don’t know how many times I’ve told myself this. I know that I’ll post my next review there and I’ll lose that bet ;-).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know the feeling; it’s really hard to resist the new titles popping up and Bookouture is always a dangerous publisher to visit. I’m trying not to request any new titles, but somehow I always end up doing so anyway haha. I’m at 75% right now and I’m really going to try and reach 80% though before I request more.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Bookouture, they have brilliant books and authors and they’re lovely πŸ™‚ I still have 4 books pending with publication dates in 2017, which is not bad, my ratio went up to 73%, I’m proud of myself, haha! I should reach 80 soon and I’m planning on tackling my own TBR and only indulge in NG requests once in a while.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know! They were one of the first publishers I came in contact with and I have been stalking their page ever since. πŸ˜‰ And that’s great that you’re almost at 80%!! I’m going to try and request less next year as well since I have a huge mountain of other books I want to read as well.

      Like

    • I know the feeling… I signed up in June/July and I went a little overboard with my requests as well. I’m finally close to the 80%, but it did mean I had to put on hold a lot of books I was planning to read in 2016… Next year, I’m definitely going to try and request less.

      Like

  3. Pingback: 2017 (Netgalley) ARCs: The Complete List | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

