Month In Review: December 2016

monthinreviewdecember2016

I know everybody has been repeating this over and over again already, but where did 2016 go?!?! Seriously time is flying by way too fast… December went away in a blink of an eye, with the holidays and everything. Honestly I’m surprised I was able to finish 17 books, because I sure didn’t have that much spare time to read! The Holidays were a great excuse to bake some season inspired treats, the highlights being the following 3 photos below: dulce de leche filled Christmas ‘trees’, traditional Argentinian sweetbread and chocolate muffins with green coconut glaze. This will also be the last of my baking for a while as I will be needing a diet after the food overdose. xD

img_20161221_183930img_20161227_232059img_20161231_104151

I’m hoping 2017 will bring me yet again a lot of time to read, and hopefully more time to kayak again soon…It’s currently summer and it sure is hot out here, although we’ve been having problems with rain lately. Fingers crossed! Also, my furry friends wanted to say hi before continuing to the last of 2016’s numbers…

img_20161214_095512img_20161231_104438

  • Number of books read in December: 17
  • Total number of books read this year: 194 (+2 rereads)
  • Total number of pages read in December: 5.477
  • Total number of pages read this year: 62.168

I had some excellent as well as average reads in the last month of 2016, and quite a few classics! It’s a shame 5 ratings were below 3 stars, but at least I had a lot of good reads to make up for it.


decemberinreview5starrating

5 STARS: Absolutely and entirely mind blowing! I suggest you to pick up a copy now. 
This Savage Song – by Victoria Schwab

decemberinreview45starrating

4.5 STARS: This one was almost perfect. Surely fantastic! 
The Gift – by Louise Jensen // From Sand And Ash – by Amy Harmon

decemberinreview4starrating

4 STARS: Wow, this was really good. Close to amazing!
Catacomb – Madeleine Roux // Walk Into Silence – by Susan McBride // The Picture Of Dorian Gray – by Oscar Wilde // Rubyfruit Jungle – by Rita Mae Brown // Wuthering Heights – by Emily Bronte

decemberinreview35starrating

3.5 STARS: Great read. Really entertaining!
Kill The Next One – by Federico Axat // Point Of No Return – by Martha Gellhorn

decemberinreview3starrating

3 STARS: It was a nice read, but not fantastic. 
13 Little Blue Envelopes – by Maureen Johnson // The Strange Case Of Dr. Jekyll And Mr. Hyde – by Robert Louis Stevenson

decemberinreview25starrating

2.5 STARS: I give this one the benefit of the doubt. Nothing too exciting. 
Another Day Gone – by Eliza Graham // Down The Rabbit Hole – by Julia Crane // What Light – by Jay Asher // After You – by Jojo Moyes

decemberinreview0starrating

0 STARS (DNF): I didn’t even bother to finish this one. Absolutely and totally horrible!
Tipping Point – by Tomas Byrne


I can’t believe I have actually finished all challenges on time! Ok, The 2016 Bookish Bingo Challenge technically wasn’t finished because the two last mystery missions were never revealed, but the host told us we can consider them as a free space. So I’m calling it finished. 😉

# CHALLENGES #

As for my other blogging goals…I managed to finish at least one of the other goals, but I have three big red lines were I totally and painfully failed. Oops? I already knew the TBR pile was going to be hopeless though, as well as the Spanish and running. Hopefully this year will be better!

# OTHER READING/BLOGGING GOALS #

  • Read at least 5 classics
  • Complete at least 5 series 
  • Reread at least 3 books 
  • Bring my physical TBR pile below 200 books: 306/200
  • Read at least one book over 800 pages
  • Read at least 5 books in Spanish: 2/5
  • Join at least 5 challenges during the year
  • Finish older reviews that haven’t been posted yet
  • Update older reviews to new format
  • Reach 5km running! 2300m/5000m

Stay tuned for my Year In Review graphics and 2017 goals coming soon!!! 

7 thoughts on “Month In Review: December 2016

Leave a Reply

