BEST OF 2016: TOP 5 Sci-Fi/Fantasy

bestof2016top5scififantasy

This is already part three of my best of 2016 series, and this time it’s time to think about all those sci-fi and fantasy books I’ve read last year. There were quite a lot of excellent new discoveries, and these below are my absolute favorites.


5. The Girl With All The Gifts (4,5 stars) by M.R. Carey

thegirlwithallthegifts

4. Neverwhere (5 stars) by Neil Gaiman

neverwhere

3. This Savage Song (5 stars) by Victoria (V.E.) Schwab

thissavagesong

2. Dark Matter (5 stars) by Blake Crouch

darkmatter

1. Shades Of Magic series by V.E. Schwab: A Darker Shade Of Magic (5 stars) and A Gathering Of Shadows (4,5 stars)

shadesofmagicseries


Have you read any of these titles yourself? What were your favorite sci-fi/fantasyΒ reads of 2016? Feel free to comment! πŸ™‚

18 thoughts on “BEST OF 2016: TOP 5 Sci-Fi/Fantasy

  1. Neverwhere is so great! I listened to the audio book a few years ago (which Gaiman narrates!) and I really enjoyed it. I think my favorite Gaiman book is Ocean at the End of the Lane. It’s a quick one, but it packs a punch!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I loved The Ocean At The End Of The Lane as well! I would totally call any future cat Ocean… πŸ˜‰ My all time favorite would still be Neverwhere, but that one comes in a close second.

      Like

  2. ADSOM was one of my favorites of the year, too! I got it for Christmas, so I squeezed it in at year’s end and finished it on New Year’s Eve. Very happy to be on that bandwagon now. πŸ˜€ Nice to see This Savage Song and Neverwhere here as well.

    I just posted my year-end favorite reads list today, if you’d like to take a look: https://saraletourneauwriter.com/2017/01/05/my-favorite-reads-of-2016-plus-giveaway/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved Dark Matter – so glad you did too! I want to check out A Darker Shade of Magic. Are there only 2 books? I always hesitate with a series.
    I just bought The Girl With All The Gifts! And I want to read Neverwhere sometime, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t praise Dark Matter enough! And as far as I know the Shades Of Magic series is going to have three books, with the third coming out next month… So it’s pretty close to being a finished series and definitely worth reading (as I don’t think the third book will disappoint since I haven’t had a bad experience with Schwab’s work yet). πŸ˜‰ I hope you will enjoy the other titles when you get to them!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

