ARC REVIEW: Big Mushy Happy Lump – by Sarah Andersen

brbigmushyhappylump

Title: Big Mushy Happy Lump
(Sarah’s Scribles #2)
Author: Sarah Andersen

Genre: Graphic Novel, Humor, Non Fiction
First published: March 7th 2017
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Finished reading: January 1st 2017
Pages: 128
Rating 4qqq

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Andrews McMeel Publishing in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I admit I don’t have a lot of experience reading graphic novels, but I fell in love with these illustrations as soon as I saw the cover. And what better way to start the year with a light read full of ‘down to earth’ and endearing illustrations and situations that are extremely easy to relate to? Big Mushy Happy Lump is actually the second comic by the author and is coming out on March 7th; the first, Adulthood Is A Myth, I will be looking forward to read soon. I had a lot of fun reading this graphic novel and it was really easy to connect to the illustrated personal essays of Sarah Andersen. I could see myself in so many of the real-life situations! I mean, I think any booklover can relate to the illustration below…

bigmushyhappylumpsample

The essays are not just about books though. They also talk about the author’s real-life experiences with for example anxiety, career and relationships. These little stories are both fun to read, orginal, easy to relate to and feel authentic; the illustrations a real treat. This bundle would make a perfect gift!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

This second bundle of Sarah’s Scribbles is full of both the most recent fan favorites and dozen’s of all-new comics. The illustrated personal essays are based on the author’s personal real-life experiences with topics as anxiety, career, relationship and other challenges adults have to face.

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I had a lot of fun reading Big Mushy Happy Lump. Not only are the illustrations easy on the eye, it is also really easy to relate to the highly personal little essays. The stories feel authentic and the humor used was right up my alley. I’ve seen the tone being compared to Furiously Happy, and I completely stand behind that comparison. If you are looking for an entertaining graphic novel that talks about real life, this one is an excellent choice!

10 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Big Mushy Happy Lump – by Sarah Andersen

  1. A comparison to Furiously Happy?? I need this! I’ve never read a graphic novel but it’s never too late to start! Big Mushy Happy Lump sounds like the right one to begin with 🙂 Great review.

    • It has exactly the same vibe as Furiously Happy; especially the parts about social anxiety. I don’t have a lot of experience with the genre either, but this one is great.

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

    • It’s such a great read! I haven’t read Adulthood Is A Myth yet, but I got a copy immediately after finishing this one. I hope you will enjoy it as well!

  6. Pingback: 2017 (Netgalley) ARCs: The Complete List | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Month In Review: January 2017 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

