BOOK REVIEW: Mosquitoland – by David Arnold

brmosquitoland

Title: Mosquitoland
Author: David Arnold

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction
First published: March 3rd 2015
Publisher: Viking Children’s
Finished reading: January 8th 2017
Pages: 336
Rating 5qqq

“I am a collection of oddities, a circus of neurons and electrons: my heart is the ringmaster, my soul is the trapeze artist, and the world is my audience. It sounds strange because it is, and it is, because I am strange.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

Dear, dear Mosquitoland. I have been wanting to read you ever since you were published, but somehow I have managed to neglect you for almost two long years. I have no proper reasons, not like the ones you mentioned in your story, but I will try to explain why I was wrong to not read you sooner.

First of all, I loved LOVED the prose in Mosquitoland! David Arnold‘s writing is without doubt excellent and I enjoyed every single minute of the ride. This is not your average story and its uniqueness just radiates right off the page. The main characters are BRILLIANT, although my special love goes out to Mim. She is hands down one of my new favorite characters and I just loved the quirkiness and unique feel of her character and development. She is basically what makes Mosquitoland so special, along with the writing and switches in between the ‘letters’ and the ‘actual’ plot. Mim has to face a lot of unlikely situations during her roadtrip away from what she calls Mosquitoland, but instead of doubting the credibility I found myself drawn right into the story. The writing is truly enchanting, and along with the fast pace I found myself literally flying through the pages. If you like YA contemporary reads and haven’t tried Mosquitoland yet, please do! You won’t regret it.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Mim Malone used to call northern Ohio her home, but after something happened in her family she is dragged away to Mississippi. There she has to live with her dad and her new stepmom, with no ‘real’ contact with her mom whatsoever… Then she finds out her mother is sick back in Cleveland, and Mim decides to take fate into her own hands. She boards a northbound Greyhound bus to her real home and real mother, and will meet quite a few quirky fellow travelers along the way… And her journey will not exactly go as planned either.

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

Now I’ve finally read Mosquitoland, I cannot stop asking myself why I haven’t read it sooner. Because boy, this story has literally blown me away. Mim has won over my heart with her quirkiness and strange habits and all, and I enjoyed reading ever single moment of her road trip and adventures. The writing is more than excellent and has an unique feel about it; the characters are what make this story stand out from the rest as well. More than recommended!


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. Bloglovin’.

13 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Mosquitoland – by David Arnold

  1. Being allergic to Mosquitoes, I hesitated to read your review and cringed at the name, haha. But it looks like the book is so much more than just a name 🙂 I often find the writing in YA lacking something so I’m happy to know this one has a brilliant one. Great and enthusiastic review 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re allergic? Me too! I hate those little bloodsuckers. Mosquitoland is just a nickname the main character gives to Mississippi, so you’re safe. 😉 This one is definitely a great example of well written and unique prose in YA. 😀

      Like

      • Really? Usually people think I’m lying when I tell them! It’s a lie until they have to drive me to the hospital when I start swelling like a balloon! Haha, now I feel better about buying a book with that name!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thankfully mine is not so bad (I grew over it partly I guess), but the bites still get huge and bother me for over a week… My first wish would definitely be ‘death to all mosquitos’. 😉

        Like

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: 2017 Beat The Backlist: Official Update Post | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Month In Review: January 2017 | It's All About Books

  8. Pingback: IN THE SPOTLIGHT: Favorite 2017 Reads #1 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

