BOOK REVIEW: Wuthering Heights – by Emily Brontë

brwutheringheights

Title: Wuthering Heights
Author: Emily Brontë
Genre: Classics, Fiction, Romance
First published: 1847
Publisher: Penguin Books
Finished reading: December 31st 2016
Pages: 360
(Audio duration 13hs 14m 06s)
Rating 4qqq

“I have dreamt in my life, dreams that have stayed with me ever after, and changed my ideas; they have gone through and through me, like wine through water, and altered the color of my mind. And this is one: I’m going to tell it – but take care not to smile at any part of it.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I was browsing my list of reviews the other day and realized I totally forgot to write my review on my last read of 2016. Oops? So this is me making up for that. My last read of 2016 was actually an audiobook I listened to on Audible of one of the popular classics: Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. It was my first experience with the Brontë sister’s books and I have to say it was quite a positive one. I’m still a newbie when it comes to listening to audiobooks, but I found my experience listening to the story of Heathcliff and Catherine to be so much more entertaining than I thought I would! Sure, there is a lot of drama going on and I didn’t really like every character, but I found myself looking forward to my time with the inhabitants of Thrushcross Grange and Wuthering Heights. It’s a bit hard to properly judge the writing style by just listening to the prose, but I’m quite positive I would enjoy reading the physical version of Wuthering Heights just as much. I definitely have it marked for a ‘reread’ some time in the future!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Lockwood is the new tenant of Thrushcross Grange on the bleak Yorkshire moors. One night he is forced to seek shelter at the home of his landlord at Wuthering Heights, and it is not a positive experience. And then he finds out all about the history of the events that took place years ago and influenced the history of both Thrushcross Grange and Wuthering Heights. It all started with young Heathcliff and Catherine, and when things didn’t turn out as planned the events that happened next have influenced current and future generations alike…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I have to admit I was never sure the classics of the Brontë sisters would be my thing, but I’m glad I finally gave Wuthering Heights a go. Audiobook or not, I enjoyed this story so much better than I thought I would even though some of the characters can be quite irritable. The history of both families is intriguing and I will definitely be looking forward to revisit this world some time in the future when I pick up the physical version.


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. Bloglovin’.

21 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Wuthering Heights – by Emily Brontë

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. I read this one several years ago and can’t remember a single thing about it besides that I disliked it immensely. I love all of Charlotte’s books, though, so I don’t know if I’m just not an Emily fan, or if I should give Wuthering Heights another go, just in case I was missing something the first time. I know some people love it and it’s their favorite book.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love the review! I haven’t gotten around to reading this one yet, but I have every intention to! I know you said you listened to the audiobook, but how would you describe the writing? Like is it old-timey and hard to understand and keep up with? Because that’s always my issue with classics… I’m always a bit hesitant about reading them because I’m scared the writing will be dull and hard to understand, therefore unenjoyable. So what would you say about this one?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wuthering Heights was actually only the second audiobook ever I listened to, but I liked the experience. I’m not sure about contemporary books, but it is a great way to make it ‘easier’ to read classics.

      Like

  7. I’m glad you enjoyed this book! I fell in love with it when I was about 12 or 13 and staying at my great aunts’ house … they went to bed early, and I needed something to read! I found a Reader’s Digest condensed version of this and sat up the whole night reading … very shortly afterwards, I sought out the full novel! I think it’s just great writing and a great story without being at all “moralistic” and it’s an amazing book for a woman to have written at that time. … Unfortunately, just because you liked this is no guarantee you will like any of the other Bronte sisters’ books. So many people told me I would like Charlotte’s “Jane Eyre” better but I absolutely hated it … too much of moralistic Harlequin romance for me. Anne’s books were ok, but I preferred WH. (Incidentally, Charlotte was supposed to have been a bit of a prude and it’s rumored Emily had a second manuscript that Charlotte burned after her death. Charlotte also prevented the re-publication of Anne’s “Tenant of Wildfell Hall” after Anne’s death because it dealt with an alcoholic hero.) One final tidbit … WH was published when Emily was about 28 or 29 years old; she died of consumption at 30. She was an intensely private person who loved to wander the moors on her own, so who knows what characters she may have met or if she did have a romance/flirtation that influenced this novel?

    Like

    • That’s such a great story! I didn’t know about the sister’s history… Truly fascinating indeed. Hearing your description of Jane Eyre, I’m not sure if it would be for me either… I’ve basically been avoiding the Bronte sister’s work because I thought they would be too ‘romantic’, but I’m glad I seemed to have picked the right book to start with.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

