ARC REVIEW: The One Memory Of Flora Banks – by Emily Barr

brtheonememoryofflorabanks

Title: The One Memory Of Flora Banks
Author: Emily Barr

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Fiction
First published: January 12th 2017
Publisher: Penguin
Finished reading: January 14th 2017
Pages: 303
Rating 5qqq

“I am really here. Yet I know I am not. I am inside something that must be buried in my head. I am layers deep in my own brain.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Penguin in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

After I read Claire‘s review at Art and Soul, I basically had no other choice but rush to Netgalley and request a copy of this new novel by Emily Barr as well. I literally did a happy dance when my request was approved soon after, because I had heard nothing but wonderful things about The One Memory Of Flora Banks (and not just because of the gorgeous cover). I picked up my copy straight after receiving it, and I completely agree with all the other raving reviews out there. This book is brilliant! I loved LOVED the main character and the fact that amnesia plays such a big role in the story. Sure, there is a hint of a love triangle and she doesn’t seem to care much about hurting her best friend’s feelings when she kisses the boyfriend. Sure, if you think about the plot critically it’s not exactly all that credible. But to be honest, I didn’t really care. Flora managed to win over my heart from the very first page and I loved both the writing and how Flora managed to do so many things suffering with anterograde amnesia like she does. And that ending! I’m already having a feeling this one will appear on my list of 2017 favorites.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Seventeen-year-old Flora Banks suffers from anterograde amnesia ever since a tumor was removed from her brain at the age of ten. She has no short-term memory and is unable to make new memories; her mind has been resetting itself several times a day ever since the operation. But that is until she kisses Drake, her best friend’s boyfriend, the day before he leaves town. Somehow Flora is still able to remember every detail about their conversation and kiss the next day, and the memory sticks. Flora is convinced that Drake is the key to restoring her memory and making her whole again… So when an encouraging mail from Drake suggests to meet him far far away, Flora finally listens to the two words on her hand: ‘be brave’. Will Flora be able to find him?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

If you look critically, The One Memory Of Flora Banks actually has a plot that isn’t all that credible and even has a hint of a love triangle. I’m normally not a big fan of either, but in this case it was all completely forgotten thanks to the lovely writing and more importantly: Flora Banks. Flora is basically what makes this story and is without doubt one of my new favorite characters! I love how she is able to overcome her anterograde amnesia and do all the things she does. The One Memory Of Flora Banks is definitely a story that is worth the hype and more than recommended!


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. Bloglovin’.

23 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: The One Memory Of Flora Banks – by Emily Barr

    • It’s definitely a worthy title to have on your TBR! Flora is a wonderful character and the anterograde amnesia makes this story SO interesting to read!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: 2017 (Netgalley) ARCs: The Complete List | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Month In Review: January 2017 | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: IN THE SPOTLIGHT: Favorite 2017 Reads #1 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

