WWW Wednesdays #123 – February 8th

wwwwednesdays2017

WWW WEDNESDAYS is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words and is all about answering the three questions below.

  • WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

wwwfebruary8th2017currently

I’m currently reading one of my pending Netgalley ARCs, Little Girl Lost by Carol Wyer. I requested this one after hearing a lot of great things about it, and it definitely doesn’t disappoint so far. I’m also about to start Rebel Of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton… I’ve been wanting to pick that one up for a while, and now I’ve been approved for the sequel there is really no excuse to pospone it any longer. 😉  I haven’t made any progress with my newest audiobook (Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison) this week though.

  • WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

wwwfebruary8th2017finished

* The first book I was able to finish since last week is Missing by Monty Marsden. This one sounded like such an intriguing read and I still like the setting in Italy, but it took me a long time to finish it. I know this story is actually a translation, but it just all felt too chaotic and it took a long time before things started making sense. The many POV switches distracted from the main plot and had me confused which characters were actually important in the story. Claps was an interesting character though.
* I then read The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak, which was actually published yesterday. It’s such a brilliant read! I completely fell in love with the writing style, plot and characters and it just such a great feel-good story full of nostalgic feelings and flashbacks to the 80s. And even though I grew up in the 90s myself, it was really easy to connect to the story anyway.
* The last book I managed to finish is The Rest Of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness. I was really looking forward to this one and maybe my expectations were just too high, but this story wasn’t as good as I thought it would be. I was actually confused by the chapter introductions for a while and didn’t get a proper feel for the story straight away. I’m not saying I didn’t like it, but it took me longer than I thought I would to finish it and frankly I expected something a little more ‘mindblowing’. Note to self: get the Chaos Walking sequels ASAP!

  • WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

wwwfebruary8th2017next

I’ll probably pick up my Netgalley copy of Traitor To The Throne by Alwyn Hamilton as soon as I finish the first book… Although I have been wanting to read both The Song Of Achilles by Madeline Miller and Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult for the Beat The Backlist challenge as well.  My latest TBR jar pick is still The Five Stages Of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.

27 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #123 – February 8th

  1. The problem I’ve found with Patrick Ness is that having started with A Monster Calls and Chaos Walking, none of his other books are quite as good. And of course that means they’re all good, and enjoyable, but just not quite as brilliant! He’s a victim of his own success 🙂
    I knew I would be sorry I didn’t get approved for a copy of The Impossible Fortress – it sounds exactly like my sort of thing! Nevermind… I’ll just have to see if the library get it!

    • That’s exactly the right way to describe it! He definitely IS victim of his own success… It’s one of the reasons I’m trying not to read A Monster Calls for now. And such a shame you weren’t approved for The Impossible Fortress! I’m not sure why I did, but it is definitely a great read. I hope you will find it at the library soon. 🙂

    • That’s totally true! I still got the 80s flashbacks even though I was born a decade later. 😀 I’ve heard great things about The Song Of Achilles, plus I need another book for the BeatTheBacklist challenge already. 😉 Happy reading!

    • Oh I hope you do! And The Impossible Fortress is such a great read; definitely worth reading. 😀 I hope you will enjoy your books this week and Happy reading!

  2. I keep seeing lots of great things about Little Girl Lost at the moment but I’m determined I will not add any more books to my shelf (we’ll see how long that lasts).

    I don’t think any other book of Patrick Ness really compares to Chaos Walking or A Monster Calls but I think I went into The Rest of Us Just Live Here with slightly lower expectations anyway. I actually really loved the little chapter intro’s and thought they were the highlight of the book.

    • I’m impressed that you are able to resist requesting new titles! What’s your secret? haha I’m pretty much hopeless right now and ended up with 10 new titles in just one week after ‘behaving’ during January. 😉

      I think I might have started The Rest Of Us Just Live Here without being in the mood for fantasy, so that might explain why I didn’t connect to the chapter introductions the way I could have… I’m actually planning on rereading them when I’m in the mood for fantasy, because I’ll probably enjoy them way better that way.

      • I’m actually terrible at not requesting but with 35 titles on my shelf I need to try. I did cave today and request 2 but I’m justifying it on the basis they’re books I would end up buying anyway (that’s my story and I’m sticking to it)

      • Wow 35! I feel slighly less terrible about my 18 books now… Although it’s still way more than I intended haha. I totally agree requesting a book because you were going to buy it anyway is a very solid reason though. 😀

  3. I definitely recommend The Song of Achilles – it’s beautifully written. I’ve just started The Rest of Us… and I fear I will feel the same as you. The Chaos Walking trilogy was just too amazing for its own good!

    • Good to hear you enjoyed The Song Of Achilles! And I hope you will end up enjoying The Rest Of Us Just Live Here. I agree his other books are just too good in comparison for his own good haha.

    • The Impossble Fortress is an entertaining read full of nostalgic feelings… The Song Of Achilles sounds really intriguing as well; including the references to the classical elements.

Leave a Reply

