ARC REVIEW: Traitor To The Throne – by Alwyn Hamilton

brtraitortothethrone

Title: Traitor To The Throne
(Rebel Of The Sands #2)
Author: Alwyn Hamilton

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Magic
First published: January 31st 2017
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Finished reading: February 18th 2017
Pages: 528
Rating 4,5qqq

“But then, this was what the desert did to us. It made us dreamers with weapons.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Faber & Faber in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I had heard a lot of great things about the first Rebel Of The Sands book, so when I saw a copy of the sequel at Netgalley I decided to go ahead and request it. When (to my surprise) the request was approved, I hurried to read the first book. And it was love at first chapter. Both the writing style, plot and characters managed to convince me right from the beginning, and I had an excellent time reading the first book. I was more than excited about Traitor To The Throne after that, and Alwyn Hamilton didn’t disappoint. This has without doubt become one of my new favorite fantasy series! Traitor To The Throne by no means suffers from the so-called ‘weak-second-book’ syndrome and was possibly even better than the first book. The writing, the worldbuilding, the plot, the characters, the magic… Everything just works. The sequel has a lot less desert and is mostly set inside the palace, but I personally liked the change of scenery. And despite the fact that the story doesn’t end in that big of a cliffhanger, it is going to be a long wait for the third book… Because I sure will be missing the main characters and their world in the mean time. If you like the genre, I can definitely recommend this series!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

WARNING: Possible spoilers! Please don’t read this summary if you haven’t read the first book of this series yet. I’ll keep the summary super short but it’s impossible to keep it completely spoiler-free…

Nearly a year has passed since that memorable day in Fahali… Amani has had time to get used to her powers during the months that passed, and both her reputation as the Blue-Eyed Bandit and the Rebel Prince’s message have spread across the desert. Things are getting out of control, and Amani will soon find herself in a very complicated situation. One day, she finds herself stripped of her powers and identity, and Amani will have to rely on her desert instincts again to survive… Because the Sultan’s palace is a dangerous place. What will happen to Amani and the other rebels?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

When I start reading a new fantasy series, I’m always looking for a few key elements before I decide to continue with the sequel. The most important ones are: well written prose, excellent worldbuilding, interesting/likeable characters with a believable development and a little something extra that makes the story stand out from the rest. Rebel Of The Sands basically has it all, and the sequel is just as good as the first book. Amani is partly your typical strong female heroine, but I’ve grown to love her character and I like that she isn’t just a strong desert girl with great weapon skills, but also has her ‘special’ powers. I will definitely be looking forward to the third book next year!


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.

March 2017 TBR

march2017tbr

I can’t believe it’s actually MARCH 2017 already! The third month of this year already, and also my birthday month… And hopefully less extreme weather. Last month’s TBR was without doubt a disaster and I only read three of the titles I wanted to read. It’s easy to explain though, because I basically have a mountain of pending ARCs waiting for me right now so I just don’t have time to read any of the other titles right now. These titles below are still high on my priority list though! Fingers crossed April or May will be less busy.

february2017tbrdone

>>> Find a complete list of the books of books owned and waiting to be read here and my full TBR list at Goodreads here <<<

I’ve decided to turn this month into ARC month, and I’m going to try and read a lot of my pending ARCs this month. I actually have over 20 pending titles right now, but the eight I’ve mentioned below are a priority.

# TBR #

march2017tbrnr2

  • Renegade Red by Lauren Bird Horowitz (420 pages) NETGALLEY
  • Rose Petal Graves by Olivia Wildenstein (390 pages) NETGALLEY
  • Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken (507 pages)
  • History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera (320 pages)
  • The Missing Ones by Patricia Gibney (486 pages) NETGALLEY

march2017tbrnr1

  • Bull by David Elliott (200 pages) NETGALLEY
  • Blood Moon by John David Bethel (355 pages) ARC
  • The Last Gods Of Indochine by Samuel Ferrer (422 pages) ARC
  • The Wanderers by  (384 pages) NETGALLEY
  • The First City by Joe Hart (444 pages) NETGALLEY

Have you read any of these and/or do you recommend them?


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.