WWW Wednesdays #127 – March 8th

wwwwednesdays2017

WWW WEDNESDAYS is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words and is all about answering the three questions below.

  • WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

I’m currently reading two pending ARCs… March is really turning into an ARC month, but at least my Netgalley ratio is finally above 80% again! 😀 The first one is The Missing Ones by Patricia Gibney, a psychological thriller I’ve heard great things about and I’ll be looking forward to. The second title is an historical fiction read that the author sent to me: The Last Gods Of Indochine by Samuel Ferrer. It took me longer than expected to finally pick that one up, but I’m hoping to finish it before the weekend.

  • WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

* The first book I finished since last week is I Found You by Lisa Jewell, which was even better than I thought it would be. Without doubt an excellent psychological thriller that had me on the edge of my seat and guessing about the facts until the very end. And even though the amnesia element isn’t all that original on its own, it works perfectly together with the rest of the plot. Recommended!
* I then read The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman, which I picked up on a whim when I wanted a little break from my ARCs. I totally didn’t realize this was actually a series! There were things I loved about this book, especially the Library/Language elements, but it wasn’t as good as I hoped. Part of the problem is that so many different elements are being squeezed together in the plot that it just all seems a bit chaotic… I mean: magic, science fiction/steampunk, supernatural creatures (vampires, fae, werewolves AND dragons), a superdetective and an evil supervillian in one story? It just seemed a bit too much and mostly distracted from the very interesting idea behind the Library, Language and alternative worlds.
* Next up was The Wanderers by Meg Howrey, a book I was really looking forward to, especially after it was compared to The Martian. Unfortunately, this turned out to be false advertisement, because the two basically have NOTHING in common. The Wanderers mostly focuses on the psychological effects of a Mars mission SIMULATION (Yes, the astronauts don’t even go to Mars), which definitely wasn’t what I had signed up for. Sure, a psychological analysis can be interesting and I liked the diversity of the characters, but overall the pace was quite slow and the sometimes dense prose didn’t really help either. Things improved later on, but I don’t think I would have actually made it to that point if this wouldn’t have been an ARC: In one word: disappointment.
* After two mediocre reads, I had both my fingers and toes crossed when I started reading Renegade Red by Lauren Bird Horowitz. I ran out of time and dived straight into the second book, but it by no means ment I enjoyed it less. I definitely understand the love for this series now, because I had a blast reading this story. A fast pace, interesting characters and plot, well written… It does have a love triangle I’m not sure about, but this is one of the exceptions where I’ve forgiven the story for it.

  • WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

Guess who is finally going to pick up her copy of A Conjuring Of Light?! I’m a huge V.E. Schwab fan and I’ve been wanting to read this final book ever since I finished AGOS last year, so I guess you can imagine how excited I am to be finally reading it. I was initially going to reread the first two books before, but I really don’t have time right now with all those pending ARCs…. Looks like I will be having a Shades Of Magic reread later this year! 😉 I also need to read the two ARCs Bull by David Elliott and Silence Under Screams by Collin Henderson, and I might read History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera after that just to change genres a bit. (Ok I confess, it’s also because I REALLY want to read it in the first place.)


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.

26 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #127 – March 8th

  1. If you have time, I’d give the other 2 installments in The Invisible Library series a chance. The first one was all over the place, but it was quite fun. The second two are much more streamlined and focus on a single story thread. This is a series which seems to be getting better with each book. I think this is because she did a heck of a lot of world building in book 1 (you could argue too much) and so relaxes into books 2 and 3.
    I hope you love A Conjuring of Light. It’s long, but over too soon 🙂

    • That’s good to know! I have a copy of the second book The Masked City on my kindle so I will probably give it a go some time this year… It’s always great to hear a series only improves over time.
      And in a way I don’t want to start ACOL because I don’t want it to be over… But I’m afraid of spoilers, so this weekend is going to be Shades Of Magic weekend no matter what. 😉

  2. April is so gonna be my ARCs month, haha! You’re driving me crazy with that praise of I Found You! I can’t believe I have to wait to read it xD Happy reading!

    • March is definitely mine! I’m going to try and squeeze as many ARCs into this month as possible so I can finally read some of my own books next month… And you will have something good in store for April for sure. 😉 Happy reading!

    • It was definitely HARD to get to the 80% ratio again; I’ve been binge-reading my ARCs during the last few months just to get there. It feels good, but it did mean ignoring books I really wanted to read (like ACOL). I can’t wait to finally read that one!!!

    • I’ve heard the sequels are a lot better than the first book, so I’m really tempted to continue reading now. The idea behind this series is so interesting!

  3. I think I felt the same about Invisible Library. I have a long overdue ARC of the second book but keep putting it off. Really want to read Silvera’s book too so can’t wait to hear what you think.

    • Good to hear I wasn’t the only one! I’ve heard the sequels are a lot better though, so I’ll probably still give them a try some time. And I’m definitely hoping to pick up History Is All You Left Me soon!

  4. I’m glad to see you ended up liking Renegade Red! I really want to read that series. ACOL and History Is All You Left Me are both on my TBR so I hope you like those too. 🙂 I’ve heard great things about both so far.

    • Basically everything I’ve read by her so far is excellent, but I guess the Shades Of Magic series is my absolute favorite… Bonus, it has just become a finished series. 😉 This Savage Song is my second favorite, but the sequel is recently coming out in three months or so.

  5. It does sound like there’s a lot going on in the Invisible Library. I’m not sure if I could cope with that many elements in a story. I want to start the V E Schwab series soon. It always seems like there’s not enough time to read all the books I want to!

    • For me it was a bit too much, but I’ve heard the sequels are better so I might give them a go anyway. V.E. Schwab is probably one of my all time favorite authors; her work is just excellent. I hope you will find time to read one of her books soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

