WWW Wednesdays #129 – March 22nd

wwwwednesdays2017

WWW WEDNESDAYS is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words and is all about answering the three questions below.

  • WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

I’m finally reading A Conjuring Of Light by V.E. Schwab, and so far I’m loving every single minute of it even though it’s a lot longer than expected. I’m not ready for this story to be over though! I’m going to miss my favorite characters… I’m also still reading The First City by Joe Hart, the final book of The Dominion Trilogy that I put on hold to start ACOL. To be honest, I’m having a hard time with this book so far and the main problem is one of the main characters: Zoe. I seriously can’t stand her and she’s starting to make me feel the same about the story as well. Not good…

  • WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

* I’ve been looking forward to another Erika Foster adventure ever since I finished the third book, and I literally requested a copy the minute it appeared on Netgalley and started reading it soon after. Last Breath is without doubt my new favorite Erika Foster novel! Fast-paced, full of twists, well written, interesting plot, disturbing killer and just the right amount of creepy; what more to ask? I’m already looking forward to book five and this one hasn’t even been published yet. xD
* I then read Bull by David Elliott, a mythology retelling of the classic minotaur story. This SO wasn’t what I was expecting!! I’m still not sure what to make of it, although I can’t deny it was an entertaining read… Bull is a retelling fully written in verse and each character has its own style, which was inventive. The writing style made me laugh more than once, although I’m not sure if the tone is actually appropriate for the story. To get an idea: this is how the story started:

“POSEIDON

Whaddup, bitches?

Am I right or am I right?
That bum Minos deserved what he got.”

Not exactly what you would expect when starting a Theseus and the minotaur retelling right?!

  • WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

Next up are three more ARCs… The horror story Silence Under Screams by Collin Henderson has been on my list for way too long already, so I’m hoping to finally read it this week. But I also have the release date of both The Yellow Envelope by Kim Dinan and Rose Petal Graves by Olivia Wildenstein coming up, so I should probably read those first… And I really REALLY want to read History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera some time soon as well.


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.

30 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #129 – March 22nd

    • I’ve had The Yellow Envelope on my TBR pile for ages! It’s been a while since I last read a travel memoir and I’m looking forward to it. As for History Is All You Left Me: I’ve heard so many amazing things about it!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m glad Last Breath lived up to your expectations. I want to start that series soon!
    And you make me really excited to read that Schwab series!! So glad I bought the first book yesterday. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m really enjoying the Erika Foster series so far, but if I have to choose I would definitely go with Shades Of Magic first. I absolutely love that series. I hope you will enjoy both! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I just started A Darker Shade of Magic yesterday and quickly fell in love with it! The characters, world, and story are incredible! Silence Under Screams looks like a creepy book. Definitely going to have to check that one out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m hoping to finish ACOL tonight, although I will be sad that it’s over… It’s such a great final book so far though! And it’s good to hear I’m not the only one with the same reactions to Bull haha. It’s without doubt entertaining and original!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Bull is definitely the right book for you then! I didn’t check the reviews before I started reading it, or I would have at least had a warning. 😉 It’s very original though!
      And I literally started reading Last Breath only hours after receiving the ARC haha; I’ve been waiting for the fourth book ever since I finished book 3. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really can’t wait to finish reading my March ARCs so that I can read Bryndza. I have read some thriller/horror books lately so Silence Under Screams kinda intrigues. I look forward to your review.

    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was supposed to read other March ARCs as well, but just couldn’t resist a new Erika Foster story. It does mean I now have little time to read the two and a half pending ARCs, but Last Breath was worth it. 😉 It’s been a while since I read a proper horror read, so I’m hoping Silence Under Screams will be good. The gloomy weather definitely sets the right atmosphere right now… Happy reading!

      Like

  4. A lot of the times, when I hate or strongly dislike a main character, I end up DNFing the book, so I admire you for sticking to it!! Damn, I really need to start reading the Erika Foster series!!!
    Happy reading!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Good luck getting through The First City – I always find it so much more difficult to get through a book when I dislike the characters (hi, there, GOT…..). And I hope you enjoy ACoL. Reading it was one of the few times I wished I read slower than I do when I’m enjoying something because I got to the end too quickly for my tastes. It’s just so hard saying goodbye to all the characters after three amazing books, but at least I feel that the series has re-readability (is that even a word?).

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s definitely been a struggle to finish… Unlikeable characters can be a real dealbreaker in some stories. I understand your feelings about GOT; I like the series, but I struggled a lot more with for example book four because I didn’t care much about most of the characters (for the same reason I enjoyed book five SO much better).
      And I had the exact same experience with ACOL; I could have finished it a lot sooner but I didn’t want to rush it… I’ve already put the series on my reread list so I can revisit their world.

      Like

Leave a Reply

