BOOK REVIEW: A Conjuring Of Light – by V.E. Schwab @veschwab

Title: A Conjuring Of Light
(Shades Of Magic #3)
Author: V.E. Schwab

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Magic
First published: February 21st 2017
Publisher: Tor Books
Finished reading: March 22nd 2017
Pages: 624

“Love and loss,” he said, “are like a ship and the sea. They rise together. The more we love, the more we have to lose. But the only way to avoid loss is to avoid love. And what a sad world that would be.”


myrambles1reviewqqq

I think I’m going to need more than a little help here to write a somewhat coherent review… It’s been over a week since I finished reading A Conjuring Of Light, and I still have a book hangover. I guess that’s a good sign right? That and the fact that I cannot start talking about this book and series without sounding like a bat crazy fangirl or possibly spoiling something for those who haven’t read this book/series yet. Or most likely both. So this is me trying to explain to you why the Shades Of Magic series is without doubt one of my all time favorite fantasy reads while being completely spoiler-free! Basically, I arrived a bit late at the party and only started reading A Darker Shade Of Magic less than a year ago. I was a goner as soon as I read the first chapter; the prose, the worldbuilding, the plot, THE CHARACTERS!! I had an instant crush on this series and an instant new favorite author as well… I read both books in quick succession and then added myself to the evergrowing group of people impatiently waiting for the third and final book to be published. And trust me, I still don’t understand why it took me almost a whole month to pick up my copy of A Conjuring Of Light. I guess I wasn’t ready yet to say goodbye to some of my all time favorite characters… But I’m SO glad I finally read this third book. Forget the 600+ pages, forget the romance, forget anything else I forgot to mention; the truth is that I savoured every single minute of A Conjuring Of Light and I’m going to miss this fictional world. How much? Let’s say I named my new kitten after Delilah Bard and leave it at that. All I can say is that if you haven’t tried this series and like the genre, you probably should! It’s so brilliant you’ll probably need sunglasses while you read.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

WARNING: Possible spoilers! Please don’t read this summary if you haven’t read the first  two books yet. I’ll keep the summary super short but it’s impossible to keep it completely spoiler-free…

The delicate balance between the different Londons seems to have been disturbed in such a way that it has reached its breaking point. Red London is starting to lose its red vibrant feel of magic and darkness casts a shadow of the Maresh Empire… Who is trying to take control over the city and empire? And will our favorite characters be able to stop the change before its too late? Their whole world might be on the line…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I guess my review has turned into a fangirl ramble in the end after all… Oops?! Although I guess it’s really had to talk about the plot and what happens to the characters without giving too much away to those who haven’t read it yet. Let’s just say that while I loved the second book a tiny bit less than the first book, A Conjuring Of Light came back strong again. It’s a bit long, especially if you compare it to the first book, but I personally didn’t mind because I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to the characters yet anyway. The ending was also satisfying and I really hope this won’t be the last we’ve heard of this fictional world.


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.

14 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: A Conjuring Of Light – by V.E. Schwab @veschwab

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

    • I prefer starting finished series as well, since at least that way there won’t be any long waits for sequels to be published… Some are really hard to resist though. 😉 Shades Of Magic is definitely awesome! A great choice and now finished too. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. That’s the hard part with reviewing later books in a series – how do you review without giving away spoilers? In this case, I think your review worked really well. Your obvious love for the series will hopefully convince people to give it a try, or at least to go see your review of the first book in the series, to get a better feel for what it’s all about.

    I’m glad you liked the final entry in the SoM series – I did, too! And it’s always so nice when an author comes through like that, delivering a conclusion that just makes you love the series even more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I guess you’re right; it’s always hard to keep sequel reviews spoiler free… I’m hoping my random rambles about ACOL will be convincing enough for those who don’t know the series yet. 😉 I’m glad you enjoyed the series as well! Some series tend to get weaker in the sequels, but Shades Of Magic is definitely strong until the very end.

      Like

  6. Pingback: Month In Review: March 2017 | It's All About Books

  7. I can’t believe I haven’t started this series yet! I have the first book on my shelves but really need to sort myself out and just READ IT! Great review and not too spoilery at all I don’t think! It’s always hard to review the third book in a series. 👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: IN THE SPOTLIGHT: Favorite 2017 Reads #2 | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

