Month In Review: March 2017

I can’t believe it’s April already… The first full month of autumn and the weather has been playing up accordingly. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind for those suffocating 35+ºC days to be gone, but I really detest those cold winter months… Sigh. March was a great month though with a lot of positive personal things happening; the highlights being my birthday and the arrival of a new furry family member Lila. And yes, it’s the same one who is currently playing on my lap and trying to make it impossible for me to finish this post. xD

Bookish wise it was a great month and I managed to finish no less than fifteen books, most of them being ARCs as I’ve been trying to get rid of my huge backlog of those. Even reached an 85% Netgalley ratio again! 😀 I still have a pile of ARCs left, but I’m hoping to finish most of them by the end of April. Another great blogging achievement is that I’ve finally been able to get rid of my backlog of pending reviews and I’m going to try and keep it that way, because it’s without doubt a lot less stressful. I’ve been having lots of fun with my bookstagram account as well although I admit I went a little follow-crazy last month haha. Bookstagram is just so addicting with all those gorgeous bookish photos out there! Find the favorite photos of my own bookstagram account below.

As for the bookish numbers:

  • Number of books read in February: 15
  • Total number of books read this year: 50
  • Total number of pages read in February: 5.671
  • Total number of pages read this year: 17.052

March was a great month in general and I even managed to have TWO new 5 star ratings! That sure doesn’t happen often… Seven others were 4 stars or above and only four below three stars, so I’m not complaining. 😀


5 STARS: Absolutely and entirely mind blowing! I suggest you to pick up a copy now. 
Goodbye Days – by Jeff Zentner // A Conjuring Of Light – by V.E. Schwab

4.5 STARS: This one was almost perfect. Surely fantastic! 
I Found You – by Lisa Jewell // The Missing Ones – by Patricia Gibney // Last Breath – by Robert Bryndza

4 STARS: Wow, this was really good. Close to amazing!
Renegade Red – by Lauren Bird Horowitz // The Last Gods Of Indochine – by Samuel Ferrer // Silence Under Screams – by Collin Henderson // History Is All You Left Me –  by Adam Silvera

3.5 STARS: Great read. Really entertaining!
Bull – by David Elliott

3 STARS: It was a nice read, but not fantastic. 
The Invisible Library –  by Genevieve Cogman

2.5 STARS: I give this one the benefit of the doubt. Nothing too exciting. 
Rose Petal Graves – by Olivia Wildenstein // The Yellow Envelope – by Kim Dinan

2 STARS: It was ok. But mostly ‘meh’.
The Wanderers – by Meg Howrey // The First City –  by Joe Hart


A new year means new challenges… I ended up joining way more challenges than usual, but at least I’ve already made a lot of progress with most of them so far. I should really start working on both my Reading Through The Centuries and Beat The Backlist challenge again; maybe I should make May into a classics month?!

# CHALLENGES #

As for my other goals…I managed to both finish two series and reach a 85% Netgalley ratio in March, which I’m pretty happy about. I haven’t done much about the other goals though, but I’m hoping to read at least one classic and hopefully a Dutch/Spanish book in April. And I’m currently rereading The Perfect Stranger, so that’s one reread down!

# OTHER READING/BLOGGING GOALS #

  • Read at least 5 classics (rereads don’t count) 0/5
  • Complete at least 5 series (rereads don’t count) 2/5 (Shades Of Magic, The Dominion Trilogy)
  • Reread at least 3 books 0/3
  • Bring my physical TBR pile below 250 books 303/250
  • Read at least one book over 800 pages (maximum at 624 pages)
  • Read at least 2 books in Spanish 0/2
  • Read at least 1 book in Dutch 0/1
  • Join at least 5 challenges during the year
  • Keep my Netgalley ratio above the 80% currently at 85%
  • Start a Twitter account and use it regularly
  • Reach 5km running! 2000m/5000m

Happy April and Happy Reading! 


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.

ARC REVIEW: Silence Under Screams – by Collin Henderson

Title: Silence Under Screams
Author: Collin Henderson

Genre: Short Stories, Horror, Thriller
First published: October 19th 2016
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services
Finished reading: March 30th 2017
Pages: 108

“I could hear the sound of my own breathing over the humming in the room. It filled my ears, quickened my heart, took control of me and didn’t let me go.”

*** A copy of this collection of short stories was kindly provided to me by the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I’m a bit ashamed it took me this long to pick up this collection of short horror stories, but I’m glad I finally gave Silence Under Screams a go. I was in the mood for a proper horror read to inaugurate the upcoming Autumn months, and this was just what I was looking for. This collection by Collin Henderson is a real treat: you get to have FOUR different horror subgenres/styles all in one bundle!

I will be doing this review slightly different than usual and both give a summary and my thoughts on each of the four short stories below instead of having different sections.

 Silence Under Scream starts out strong with a short story called Old Strings… Basically a tribute to every B horror movie out there and delightfully creepy! It’s about a crazy Hollywood director coming back as a puppet and has all the classic B horror movie moments. A lone cabin in the woods… Check. Creepy creature attack moment… Check. Lots of graphic scenes… Check. Classic surprise moment… Check. Do you need more? A little warning for swearing and graphic descriptions, but Old Strings was one of my personal favorites.

The second story is called Deus Ex Corpus, and is without doubt something completely different. It belongs to a genre called bizzaro and partly inspired by an author called Jeremy Robert Johnson. I have to admit it might have been a bit too much for me to handle… This story is about a strange sect worshipping a strange god and an undercover journalist trying to get her next article, and it was without doubt nothing like I have ever read before. It’s a bit too weird to my taste and is packed with heavily graphic scenes… Don’t read it if you are grossed out easily or don’t tolerate for example the mention of body fluids. It does seem to be a good example of the genre though.

The third story is probably the most ‘light’ horror read and is mostly phsychological. It’s called Stranger and sort of a coming of age story where a trauma/scary childhood moment keeps haunting the main characters as they grow up. I liked the fact that the ‘monster’ appeared in their nightmares and how things evolved. It’s not too scary, but without doubt still an interesting read (and maybe a welcome little break from the graphic scenes as well.)

The final story is called Fake Man Watches and is without doubt fascinating. It shows that the author is trying to give the story a ‘Stephen King‘ feel, because I had exactly that impression while I was reading it. It’s probably my favorite of the bunch and it is also the longest story of the collection. As in most of King‘s stories, Fake Man Watches talks about a very realistic situation and adds a surreal element to it with just the right dose of creepy… The abusive situation at home both Stephanie and Justin have to endure is something all too real unfortunately, and is very well described. I also liked the ‘fantasy’ element and the whole final scene in the cabin in the woods. Lots of twists for such a short story as well!

As you might have guessed already, I really enjoyed reading this collection of horror stories. My favorite would be between Fake Man Watches and Old Strings for completely different reasons; the first for the mix of different elements and just the right dose of suspense and terror, the second for the entertaintment factor and tribute to B horror movies in general. My least favorite would be Deus Ex Corpus, but that’s more due to the fact that the genre and me simply aren’t a good fit. In short, if you are looking for a proper horror read, enjoy reading short stories and appreciate a variety of different horror (sub)genres represented in the same bundle, Silence Under Screams is an excellent choice. Just be warned that especially the first two stories can get really graphic!


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.