WWW Wednesdays #131 – April 5th

WWW WEDNESDAYS is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words and is all about answering the three questions below.

  • WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

I’m currently reading three books; the first two being for the Beat The Backlist challenge because I have been neglecting this challenge terribly in March. The Color Purple by Alice Walker is a (modern) classic I somehow never picked up before and I’m still deciding what to think of it. And I’ve been wanting to read the sequel ever since I finished the first book, so I’m hoping to continue Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken as soon as I finish  the first. Although I might read the ARC sequel Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell first, because I’m in the mood for another thriller.

  • WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

* I first finished The Yellow Envelope by  Kim Dinan, which didn’t turn out to be as good as I was hoping for. Instead of a travel memoir, it was more of a self-discovery journey and I had a lot of problems with the tone, focus of the story and (negative) cliches. More details in my review
* I then read the collection of short horror stories Silence Under Screams by Collin Henderson, and it sure turned out to be a proper horror read. There are four stories in total and each is unique in its own way and represents a different subgenre. Warning: some of them have very graphic descriptions!
* The last book I was able to finish in March was History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera and I can definitely understand why so many people seem to love this book. I enjoyed reading this book, although it kind of feels bad to say that since part of it is really sad. Excellent character development and loved the prose! Not a 5 star read as expected (it felt a bit messy), but definitely more than recommended for fans of the genre.
* My first April read was an ARC: Blood Moon by John David Bethel. The fact that this story is somewhat based on a true event is without doubt shocking, because the main character sure has to go through a lot. Interesting read with a lot of action and graphic scenes (warning if you don’t like those!), and I liked the use of Spanish even though there were quite a lot of mistakes.
* My last read was actually a reread: The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda. Back in January I couldn’t help myself and had to read this ARC as soon as I got a copy, and I decided to reread it before writing my review, since it’s going to be published soon. I enjoyed this thriller just as much the second time around. She is definitely one of my new favorite authors of the genre. I love LOVE her writing style.

  • WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

Next up are three more ARCs… All for the April ARC month. What Doesn’t Kill You by Ed James is a Netgalley ARC and part of a detective series I’ve been enjoying so far. Among Friends: Travels In Cuba by Heather Murray was sent by the author and sounds like an intriguing travel read. Enchanters by K.F. Bradshaw is a Reading Alley ARC and will give me just the dose of fantasy I need (hopefully). I also still want to read Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult , probably after I finish these three ARCs though.


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. Instagram. FacebookBloglovin’.

25 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #131 – April 5th

    • Haha I lasted about five seconds before I hit the button; I’m weak, I know. xD But since it’s a sequel and I already read the first book, I don’t feel TOO guilty. The Perfect Stranger is SO good! She has become one of my favorite authors of the genre; I love her prose. Happy reading!

  1. I’ve also got Sleep Tight on my list but have a few other ARCs to get through first. Will definitely be interested to hear what you think.

    I also picked up History is All You Left Me at the weekend (it was sitting in the bookstore looking all tempting) so think I may sneak it in somewhere too. Sorry to hear it was a little disappointing but I’m still keen to read.

    • So far Sleep Tight is really good! The serial killer sounds really disturbing and intriguing at the same time… And History Is All You Left Me was without doubt a great read; I think my expectations were set a tiny bit too high and expected something mindblowing. Had some minor minor complaints but it is still a 4+ star read. 😉 I hope you will enjoy both!

    • I enjoyed the first two books of the series, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed this one will be just as good! I hope you will enjoy your books this week and happy reading

  2. Good job on finishing five books last week! I’ve seen Sleep Tight around and it sounds interesting. I have a couple of thriller this month on my tbr but I’ll be happy to add that one. Happy reading! 😀

    • So far Sleep Tight is definitely worth the read! It’s a sequel, but I guess it can be read as a stand-alone as well without missing too much. Happy reading!

  3. I am currently reading The Darkest Minds and I really like it so far! 😀 Awesome job finishing so many books! I’ve been kind of in a bit of a reading slump and distracted by other things, so it’s been a slow start to the month for me.

    • Fingers crossed the rest of April will be better! 🙂 I’m definitely looking forward to be continuing The Darkest Minds series soon. Happy reading!

  4. Wow, good job getting through so much! Between Camp NaNo and some life stuff, I’m not getting through anything right now…
    Thanks for visiting my WWW post and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

