BOOK REVIEW: Never Fade – by Alexandra Bracken

Title: Never Fade
(The Darkest Minds #2)
Author: Alexandra Bracken

Genre: YA, Dystopia, Paranormal
First published: October 15th 2013
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Finished reading: April 10th 2017
Pages: 507

“Sometimes you’re the one speeding along in a panic, doing too much, not paying attention, wrecking things you don’t mean to. And sometimes life just happens to you, and you can’t dodge it. It crashes into you because it wants to see what you’re made of.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

After reading and enjoying the first book back in January, I made a promise to read both sequels as soon as possible. It took me a bit longer than expected, but I finally picked up book number two this month… And I have to say that unfortunately Never Fade doesn’t live up to the first book at all for me. While I enjoyed The Darkest Minds even though the plot isn’t all that original anymore, I found Never Fade to be overlong and at times even on the border of boring. The writing style was as good as ever, but it sure took me a lot longer than expected to finish this one… And that is probably due to the fact that both the plot felt a bit thin and some of the characters started to annoy me. Basically, the sequel is about Ruby trying to find someone and messing up along the way, with various people betraying her or not being what they seem to be. Which might still be interesting, but it mostly felt like a ‘copy-repeat’ plot to me instead. Warning: this feeling might also be caused by the fact that Ruby started to frustrate me with the whole ‘I’m dangerous/I can’t be around others/I need to be alone’ thing. It does have a pretty explosive ending though! All in all not what I was expecting at all and yet another series that suffers from the ‘weak-sequel-syndrome’… I will still be reading the final book some time soon though, and I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed In The Afterlight will make me enjoy this series again.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

WARNING: Possible spoilers! Please don’t read this summary if you haven’t read the first  book yet. I’ll keep the summary super short but it’s impossible to keep it completely spoiler-free…

Ruby never wanted her abilities in the first place and doesn’t like using them, but now she’s in the Children’s League she is forced to use them on a daily basis. She has to go on dangerous missions and get the truth out of their enemies, and she only agrees because it’s a way to keep the others safe. But then she finds out something that will change everything… And this new secret mission might just be the most dangerous one yet.

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I was really looking forward to this sequel, especially since I enjoyed The Darkest Minds that much. Unfortunately Never Fade turned out to be another case of ‘weak-sequel-syndrome’. I actually struggled to continue at points as the plot just felt too drawn out; I feel that a similar story could have been told with 150-200 pages less and would probably have been a lot more entertaining. This has nothing to do with the writing style itself though, because Never Fade is without doubt well written. It’s one of the reasons I’m still hopeful for the third book!


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. Instagram. FacebookBloglovin’.

11 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Never Fade – by Alexandra Bracken

  1. I’m sorry to hear this one was a bit of a disappointment! I hate when it happens, but I keep adding series to read, haha! Great review! I hope the next book will be better for you!

    • Haha same here! I have so many unfinished series on my TBR that I don’t even know where to start… It’s probably one of the reasons I’ll try to read the third The Darkest Minds book soon; at least it will mean one series less on my ‘unfinished’ list. 😉

  2. Sorry to hear it let ya down! I really liked the first book but I’ve yet to read the sequel. Even though I thought TDM was really good it didn’t quite push me into diving for the sequel. Still…I might end up reading this if I can ever find a copy at my library.

    • I really enjoyed the first book as well! That’s probably why I was disappointed by this one… The first book works particularly well as a stand-alone, so I can definitely understand your point.

  3. I am sorry to hear that this turned out to be a bit of a let down compared to the first book. I hope the next book will have some of the magic of book 1 though. Great review!

    • It’s not the first series that suffers from the weak-sequel-syndrome, so I’m definitely hoping things will improve in the final book…

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Series TBR/Read | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  8. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

