WWW Wednesdays #133 – April 19th

WWW WEDNESDAYS is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words and is all about answering the three questions below.

  • WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

I’m currently reading three books, although I’m going to finish the ARC Among Friends: Travels In Cuba by Heather Murray first. It’s a non fiction read about Cuba I’ve started last night and I’m only a few pages into the story so far… It will be interesting comparing the experiences of the author with one of my best friends who went to Cuba back in January. I’ve also finally started reading Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult, a story I have been wanting to pick up for ages now and decided to just pick up even though I have more ARCs pending. The last one is Enchanters by K.F. Bradshaw, which I’ve put temporarily on hold because I wasn’t in the mood for (high) fantasy.

  • WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

* The first title I finished is What Doesn’t Kill You by Ed James, the third book in a detective series and one that unfortunately didn’t live up to the previous two books. It took me a while to warm up to the story, the amount of swearing crossed the line to excessive and I felt that both the ending and the whole progress of Fenchurch’ personal life was a bit rushed. Not bad, but definitely not as good as the first two.
* I then picked up The Start Of Me And You by Emery Lord on a whim, trying to put an end on the list of ‘mediocre’ reads. I really enjoyed When We Collided last year, but this one was a little too sweet and cheesy for me. Probably also because of the annoying love triangle, although I did adore Max as a character.
* Afterwards I picked up what is going to be probably my last vampire story ever: Life Sentence by Lily Luchesi. It’s the third book of the Paranormal Detectives series and I enjoyed it better than the sequel. No more annoying love triangle and again I enjoyed the many flashbacks to the past. Fast-paced, entertaining and full of supernatural creatures; if you like the genre you will probably enjoy this series!
* I then decided to read Castle Of Water by Dane Huckelbridge, which has SUCH a beautiful cover! I just love that color combination. The story itself is just as wonderful; both the character development and plot are brilliant and I loved the writing style. A very interesting read about how two unlikely characters end up on an deserted island together and how they manage to survive… A modern ‘Robin Crusoe’ twist and I loved loved the characters bantering and the many French elements!
* The last book I finished is The Red Hunter by Lisa Unger, another gorgeous cover. This one started out a bit slow and it took me some time to connect the different storylines, but as soon as the pace picked up… BAM! Instant psychological thriller. Fascinating story!

  • WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

I’m going to make the most of April ARC month and try to read these four ARCs before the end of this month. First up is The Millionaire’s Wife by Shalini Boland, a title I have been looking forward to especially since I loved her other two thrillers. I also want to read The Original Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig, Manipulated Lives by H.A. Leuschel and The Darkest Lies by Barbara Coppertwaite, which I’ve all heard great things about.


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. Instagram. FacebookBloglovin’.

28 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #133 – April 19th

    • Haha I guess it’s the downside of reading so many ARCs… I’ve only read two or three Jodi Picoult books in the past but so far I’ve enjoyed the experience. I’ve heard great things about Small Great Things, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

  1. I’m ashamed to say my first Jody Picoult is dusty and still waiting!! I’m so curious about The Red Hunter! I started The Darkest Lies last night 😀 I can’t to read your thoughts on Manipulated Lives, I reviewed this one last year! Happy reading love! xxx

    • It took me a loooong time to pick up my first Jodi Picoult, so you’re not alone. They’re enjoyable though; my favorite is The Storyteller so far. I will be looking forward to your thoughts on The Darkest Lies and it’s great to hear you enjoyed Manipulated Lives! It sounds fascinating. Happy reading! ❤

  2. I really liked Big Little Lies! I looked up The Millionaire’s Wife on Goodreads, looks like that could be a really good book. Have a great reading week!

    • I read two other titles by the same author last year and I loved them, so I’m definitely looking forward to The Millionaire’s Wife even though the cover didn’t really convince me. Have a great week!

  3. So many good books on your list! I’ve never read any of Jodi Picoult’s book, but I’ve seen good things about Small Great Things. I hope you enjoy it!

    Here is my post for this week. Happy reading! 🙂

    • I haven’t read that many Picoult books either, but it sounds like this one is going to be good. Fingers crossed! 😉 Happy reading!

    • I love the cover as well and the story actually sounds really promising, but I just couldn’t handle having to deal with a whole new world, worldbuilding and strange names right now so I put it on hold. 😉 I will definitely pick it up again as soon as I feel like high fantasy though. Have a great week!

      • I’m feeling a little bit like that with Six of Crows tbh but at least some of the world is familiar from the Grisha Trilogy. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

