Teaser Tuesdays #137 – April 25th: Small Great Things

teasertuesdays2017

TEASER TUESDAYS is a weekly book meme hosted at The Purple Booker. To participate, just open the book you are currently reading to a random page, and choose two ‘teaser’ sentences from somewhere on that page. (no spoilers!)

I still have a lot of pending ARCs, but I’ve decided to just read Jodi Picoult‘s Small Great Things first. I had already started it (finally!) last week, but I didn’t make much progress until yesterday. I had forgotten what the story was going to be about exactly, so I was pleasantly surprised by the inclusion of race problematics and racism as a topic. Very strong start so far!

My teaser (4%):

“For a moment, I honestly don’t understand. And then it hits me with the force of a blow: they don’t have a problem with what I’ve done. Just with who I am.”

What are you reading right now?


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. Instagram. FacebookBloglovin’.

11 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays #137 – April 25th: Small Great Things

    • Racism and racial problematics is a big theme in Small Great Things and the story definitely makes you feel powerless at times… Jodi Picoult does a brilliant job of representing the different characters and views.

      Like

  1. That teaser…. 😦
    I’ve only read the one Jodi Picoult book (My Sister’s Keeper) and I had a hard time finishing it. Not that it was bad, I think it was her writing style I struggled with? I don’t know but since then I’ve been hesitant to pick up another book of hers. Maybe I will read this one. Hmm.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t that one yet myself, but this one is definitely my new favorite out of those few I did read so far. Maybe you could try finding a copy at your library and read a few pages to see if you like the writing style better in Small Great Things?

      Like

      • That’s not some bad advice! I immediately checked the online catalogue of our local library (convinced they wouldn’t have it, btw) and it’s available (in English even!)! I think I’ll know what to do this weekend! :p

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha great news! The library is definitely a great way to find out if something is for you without having to buy the title first.

        Like

Leave a Reply

