ARC REVIEW: Aurabel – by Laura Dockrill

Title: Aurabel
Author: Laura Dockrill

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
First published: June 1st 2017
Publisher: Hotkey Books
Finished reading: May 13th 2017
Pages: 304

“Even when two paths spindle off, it doesn’t mean they aren’t going to meet up, once again, somewhere along the way towards the end.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Hotkey Books in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I admit Aurabel was a coverlove-request, but I was also looking forward to read another mermaid story. Mermaids are without doubt underrated creatures and there just aren’t all that many stories about them out there. Aurabel sounded like an fun fantasy read with the mermaids as a bonus, but unfortunately this book turned out to be a quite unpleasant experience. First of all I want to make clear that this book should have been classified as a sequel, because after some investigation I found out most of the worldbuilding is taken from a previous publication (Lorali) and it’s almost impossible to fully understand Aurabel with out it. A lot of background AND essential information is missing if you don’t read Lorali, and I felt a bit cheated on I didn’t know that beforehand. This lack of information might have been part of the reason I basically felt like I was reading a story written in a foreign language I could only barely understand. Things just didn’t make sense as all and I had a hard time even getting past the first few pages and chapters. Things only got better towards the ending, but I have to be honest and say I probably wouldn’t have reached that point if this wouldn’t have been an ARC. It sounds harsh, but somehow not telling the truth doesn’t feel right either… Another thing that bothered me is the horrible spelling in the forum interactions bit. I get that this is supposed to portray ‘superficial’ teenage fans talking, but 1. it was really hard to decipher the meaning of their comments and 2. I literally shuddered the whole time every time the dreaded comments made their appearance. As for the characters: I like how their different personalities are refleccted in their respective dialogues and prose, but I do have to see they felt a bit forced and unnatural. Some characters were also starting to get on my nerves… Furthermore, I had a hard time connecting the different chapters and characters; especially in the beginning they seemed random and didn’t make a lot of sense. Things did improve slightly towards the ending and the general plot is interesting enough, but all in all I had a really hard time reading Aurabel. Such a shame, because I was really looking forward to it!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

It’s been two years since Rory drowned and Lorali has been living the live of a normal (human) teenage girl ever since. Her safe life on land won’t last much longer though, as things in The Whirl seem to be getting out of hand. Someone is trying to take the throne from the current king and doesn’t hesitate to use unorthodox methods to succeed. Even if that means hurting fellow Mer… And it seems that even Lorali won’t be safe.

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I really wanted to enjoy Aurabel and I still love the cover, but unfortunately I turned out having a completely different reading experience. I’ve debated various times whether to just DNF it, because I had a really hard time understanding and making sense of the story; something that doesn’t happen often. I’m not exaggerating when I say it felt like I was reading in a different language, but I guess part of this confusion can be explained by the fact that it’s necessary to read Lorali first to be able to fully understand the story (which I didn’t and won’t). All in all a promising premise, but unfortunately I couldn’t enjoy the execution.


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramFacebookBloglovin’.

13 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Aurabel – by Laura Dockrill

  1. sorry to hear that this one didn’t work out! ugh!! I feel like a lot of these underwater books never really work. but in this case, I can see how confusing and frustrating it can be since the author took the world from another book and never mentioned the connections of both books. hope you’re enjoying something better now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think I’ve read a mermaid/underwater book I actually enjoyed before either… The first book was actually mentioned in between lines above the blurb, but without proper mention of it being a sequel I didn’t realize how necessary it was to read that one first. Oh well, I guess I learned the hard way to over-analyze blurbs now before I decide to read a story. 😉 My current reads are a lot better though…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays #137 – May 17th | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  7. Oh man!! That is ridiculous it wasn’t clear that that this book was technically the second book in a series (at least in regards to the world building). Many times you are able to pick up what happened in the first book, but I would think it would be very difficult in a fantasy book! Such a shame.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This time it was definitely necessary to read the other book first, because without it the whole fantasy side of the story was really hard to properly understand. It was part of the reason I struggled with this story, although there were enough other problems to deal with to make me think I wouldn’t have enjoyed it anyway. Such a shame though.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: 2017 (Netgalley) ARCs: The Complete List | It's All About Books

  9. Pingback: Month In Review: May 2017 | It's All About Books

  10. Pingback: Hooked To Books Reading Challenge: It’s A Wrap! @Hookedtobooks | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

