BOOK REVIEW: Love, & You – by Gretchen Gomez

Title: Love, & You
Author: Gretchen Gomez

Genre: Poetry, Non Fiction, Romance
First published: April 4th 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Finished reading: June 4th 2017
Pages: 142

“addiction
comes
in
different
forms

i was the addict.
he was the drug.

and every time i tried
to go into detox, he kept
coming back to me
with pretty hello’s.”


myrambles1reviewqqq

I normally don’t tend to review the poetry I read, but I just HAD to make an exception for Love, & You, a poetry bundle written by fellow book blogger Gretchen Gomez (chicnerdreads). I’m sure most have already heard about her blog and wonderful poetry posts, but make sure to visit her if you haven’t! ❤

I remember adding Love, & You to my wishlist as soon as I first heard about it and my interest increased steadily as I read glowing after glowing review. But I have to give credit when it’s due and say it was actually Amanda’s wonderful review that sealed the deal for me, confirming just how much I would be able to relate to the poems. And she was 100% right. It’s been days since I devoured Love, & You in record time, and I still haven’t recovered from the emotion overload. Because to say it crudely: damn, that girl can write powerful poetry! Wonderful, emotional, raw, beautiful, powerful, strong, exceptional… Trust me, I can keep the adjectives going for a long time if you let me. This poetry bundle is all about her experience with a toxic relationship and her slow recovery from it. The poems are highly personal and it really feels you get to know her a lot better through her poems. I truly admire her courage first talking about such a personal topic and then going ahead and publishing the poems afterwards!

It’s not widely known, but I was unfortunate enough to have a quite similar experience with a toxic relationship in the past. The details don’t really matter right now, but it did mean that the poems in Love, & You made an even bigger impact on me than they would to others who haven’t had such an experience. Trust me, she doesn’t exaggerate the effects of such a relationship and its looong and difficult road to recovery. Writing (both poems and other forms) can be a very important form of self-therapy and I loved learning more about her journey through her writing. I wrote some poems myself after my experience that helped me learn about the past and accept what happened, but those just seemed like silly scribblings compared to those shared in Love, & You. I loved both the writing style, form and the way the different emotions are voiced. It’s not often that I’m left speechless, but I found myself lost for words after finishing this bundle. Thank you for describing my own feelings and memories so much better than I could ever done!

It’s easy to say I can highly recommend Love, & You.


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramFacebookBloglovin’.

18 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Love, & You – by Gretchen Gomez

  1. omg thank you!!!! i’m so happy you liked my book and i’m sorry you had to experience something similar. i don’t wish that on no one. thank you for this glowing review! thank you for supporting me! i hope you have an amazing day xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re very much welcome! Like I said I’m so glad I had the opportunity to read your poems… And I guess everything happens for a reason and I learned a LOT from my experience; it definitely made me stronger and I’m happy where I ended up. 🙂 I hope my review will help to spread the love for Love, And You! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  6. Oh wow Yvonne, this is such a wonderful review. I do like Gretchen’s poetry and I am glad to hear that her book is powerful and moving. Thank you for sharing this.

    Like

  7. While I wish you weren’t able to relate so much with this book, I’m happy Gretchen’s book resonated with you. I hope you found strength and comfort in her words. Thank you for mentioning my review! I’m so glad it gave you the extra push to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad your review made me get a copy sooner than planned, because you were completely right. It was shocking how much I could relate and her poems describe that period of my life so accurately… I wish I would have had these six-seven years ago; they would definitely have helped me getting over everything.

      Like

Leave a Reply

