Teaser Tuesdays #144 – June 13th: The Book Of Whispers

teasertuesdays2017

TEASER TUESDAYS is a weekly book meme hosted at The Purple Booker. To participate, just open the book you are currently reading to a random page, and choose two ‘teaser’ sentences from somewhere on that page. (no spoilers!)

I’ve decided to take a little break from the mystery/thriller genre and read a few different titles first… One of them is The Book Of Whispers by Kimberley Starr, another pending ARC and one that I have been curious about for a while now. I’m not sure how I will react to the demons part, but both the historical setting and existence of the ancient book the MC is given sound intriguing. It does have quite a low Goodreads rating, but we’ll see how things go!

My teaser (6%):

“I lean forwards in excitement as the third and final scarf is unwrapped, then sink back on my heels in disappointment. We aren’t a poor family, but we don’t have treasure hidden beneath the floor of our stable either. What we have instead is a book.”

What are you reading right now?


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. Instagram. FacebookBloglovin’.

15 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays #144 – June 13th: The Book Of Whispers

  1. I think it’s great you’re giving this a go what with the lowish rating.. never know, you might like it! 🙂

    I’m reading a fantasy title (netgalley arc) at the moment… and … hmm… I hoped I was going to enjoy it more… but… it’s a solid 3 starrer for the moment…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have to admit I didn’t see the rating until after I requested it; I was mostly under the spell of the cover and title. 😉 I’m not feeling it at all so far, but I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed things will improve later on. I’ve put it on hold to continue with Now I Rise first though, which is turning out to be too addicting to stop reading. 😉 I hope you read will improve later on as well!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I actually decided to finish another story I was really enjoying first before continuing with this story, but I’m definitely still curious how things would evolve in what is still to come in The Book Of Whispers.

      Liked by 1 person

    • So far I’m not convinced yet, but I’m hoping there will be more ‘mystery around the book’ and less ‘demon infestation’ later on in the story. 😉

      Like

    • There is one thing for sure, this story definitely surprised me! xD I liked the idea behind what the author wanted to do; I just didn’t enjoy actually reading it. Then again, demon stories are a hit or miss for me in general.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

