ARC REVIEW: Now I Rise – by Kiersten White @kierstenwhite @DelacortePress

Title: Now I Rise
(The Conqueror’s Saga #2)
Author: Kiersten White

Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Fantasy
First published: June 27th 2017
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Finished reading: June 13th 2017
Pages: 496

“The world will destroy her in the end. Too much spark leads to explosions. But your sister will destroy as much as she can before she goes out. She will go down in flames and blood.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Delacorte Press in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I admit I’m a bit late to the party when it comes to this series, but I was hooked as soon as I finished the first chapter of And I Darken. I had the privilege of receiving an ARC copy of the sequel early (trust me, I still can’t believe my request was actually approved!), and after finishing the first book I wanted to continue with the sequel right away. Now I Rise by no means suffers from the so-called ‘weak-sequel-syndrome’. This second book of The Conqueror’s Saga starts out strong and stays that way until the very end. The focus is slightly different than in the first book, mostly because it has two completely different storylines this time and the story switches between those POVs. I personally liked this change and it didn’t distract from the main plot at all, especially since there is still an obvious connection between the two storylines both through the characters and the plot itself. I also liked the glbt elements in the series in general, although I do have to say the love triangle bits did started to bother me as well as some of the decisions of the characters. This is probably the only negative thing I could find about this series though! Because there is no doubt I’m truly enjoying this Vlad The Impaler based series so far. Another thing that stood out for me is that there is more action and more fighting in Now I Rise, although it is balanced with further excellent character development and detailed descriptions of the worldbuilding and historical references that will make it feel as if you were back in the 15th century yourself. Because there is no doubt that Kiersten White‘s writing style is wonderful and will have you under its spell… Well written, beautiful, rich, engaging and highly addictive: Now I Rise will have you in its claws and won’t let you go until you reach the last page, leaving you wanting for more. Thankfully the sequel doesn’t end with that big of a cliffhanger, making the wait for book three a little more tolerable… Although it’s still going to be a long one.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

WARNING: Possible spoilers! Please don’t read this summary if you haven’t read the first  book yet. I’ll keep the summary super short but it’s impossible to keep it completely spoiler-free…

Lada Dracul decided to start fighting to fulfill her own dreams, but that will be more difficult than it seems. Because she has no allies and no throne: just herself and a handful of loyal men. She wasn’t able to secure the Wallachian throne as easily as was promised, but is determined to punish anyone who dares to stand in her way and prevent her from succeeding. On the other hand, Radu is still at Mehmed’s side with a completely different goal in mind. One that will ask even more from Radu than he has already given… What will happen to them and will they be able to succeed in their goals?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

After already enjoying And I Darken I had high hopes for the sequel, and Now I Rise definitely didn’t disappoint. There is a slightly different focus in the sequel, but I personally liked these changes and two different storylines each with a lot of action, intrigue and its own web of secrets and lies. The historical worldbuilding is very well done and sets the right atmosphere for what is already an excellent story. I wasn’t a fan of some of the romance and I didn’t agree with every decision made, but those are only minor complaints compared to my love for the writing style. I can’t wait to try more of Kiersten White‘s books in the future! And The Conqueror’s Saga book three is going straight to my list of most anticipated 2018 releases. Is it June 2018 yet?


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramFacebookBloglovin’.

20 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Now I Rise – by Kiersten White @kierstenwhite @DelacortePress

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  4. Sounds like we have a winner here! 🙂 Great review for book #2 and thanks to your great comments I am certain I will read the series… although, I’m going to be waiting until book 3 is out as well and then just do a reading marathon! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thankfully the cliffhanger at the end wasn’t too bad, but in a way I wish I could have waited myself… Waiting for the next book to be published can be painful, especially when it’s a whole year. Although the high quality and historical details of course take a lot of time to get right I guess. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: 2017 (Netgalley) ARCs: The Complete List | It's All About Books

    • It definitely has a different focus than book 1; like you said more action (aka killing) and less romance haha. I liked both books for different reasons, and Now I Rise is definitely just as good.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I’d be quite stunned and baffled if it was June 2018 already hahahah It’s nice to see that you thoroughly enjoyed this sequel and that it didn’t disappoint you! I didn’t know about the whole Vlad The Impaler inspiration. It just made this serious that much more interesting hahah Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I know right? Time is flying by way too fast as it is… I initially thought this series was more of a fantasy story, so the historical references and Vlad The Impaler adaptation are definitely a huge bonus! Lada has been made into a female Vlad The Impaler… With a few other changes of course. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

