ARC REVIEW: Four Days – by Jamie Campbell

Title: Four Days
Author: Jamie Campbell

Genre: Contemporary, Romance
First published: October 5th 2015
Publisher: Eltham Press
Finished reading: June 17th 2017
Pages: 135

“In tennis, inches add up to miles. In life they add up that way too. The trick of it is to understand that fact.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I read Jamie Campbell‘s other short novel The Thankful back in January and enjoyed it, so I found myself looking forward to Four Days as well. This short novel actually has a complete different focus and is more of a contemporary romance story packed with sports and roadtrip elements. Four Days has less romance than I would have expected initially and is actually more focused on the main character Luci trying to deal with a broken relationship and her tennis career not going as well as she would have liked. Luci has to rediscover herself and the roadtrip can be seen as a symbol for this journey. I’m a big travel fan, so I really enjoyed the descriptions of the different parts of New Zealands the characters were driving though. And although I’m not a big fan of tennis myself (I prefer rugby!), I liked the way these elements play a big role in this story. Four Days definitely has a huge dose of sports incorporated into the plot! The story is also quite easy to read and I liked the fact Dutch words were used here and there. It might just be the philologist in me, but I always love when different languages are incorporated into the prose, although of course it’s important that the story is still understandable for those who don’t speak the other language like is the case with Four Days. All these points sound positive, so why only a three star rating, would you ask? Two things. First of all, I wasn’t able to connect fully to the characters and some of their actions were a bit annoying. I’m not sure if it’s because it didn’t feel natural or for a different reason, but I wasn’t sure if everything was all that credible. But the biggest reason would be the adult content. I have a huge aversion for any story that includes adult content and trust me, some of the scenes in Four Days are pretty steamy. This is 100% me though and I’m sure romance fans won’t mind them at all. But as this review is about my personal opinion and feelings, the rating reflects just that… There were a lot of things I did like about this story though, so definitely give this one a try if you like a good road trip/sports contemporary and don’t mind the steamy scenes!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Luci Wijn has been having a lot of bad luck lately, both in her personal and professional life. Her partner cheated on her and her tennis career isn’t going as well as she would have hoped… Is the invitation to her friend’s wedding in New Zealand the escape she needed? Luci has to play in Auckland afterwards anyway, so she travels to the other side of the world to share her friends happiness even though she doesn’t feel great herself. But then there is a strike at the local airport, and her friend’s cousin Jamie has to step in and drive her if she wants to make it to Auckland in time…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

Four Days is without doubt less of a romance story and more of a road trip and sports-focused contemporary read. I really enjoyed the descriptions of the local scenery and the writing style was quite enjoyable to read. I liked the Dutch words popping up every once in a while and how sports played such an important role throughout the story. I wasn’t sure about the characters though and the steamy scenes were a huge turn off for me. But like I said before, if you don’t mind those you will probably enjoy this story a lot!


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramFacebookBloglovin’.

14 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Four Days – by Jamie Campbell

      • I also agreed with your comment on the sexual experiences in the book. They felt more clinical to me than romantic. I do think the author has good writing skills. It almost reminded me of classic literature. This one probably just wasn’t for me.

        Like

  1. I’m also not a huge fan of adult content, especially when it’s thrown into an otherwise compelling story — it’s just not necessary. The sports and setting stuff sound interesting, though! Great review, thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I guess the adult content kind of came as a surprise close to the ending… Those who won’t mind them will probably enjoy this story a lot better, but for me it put a mayor damper on the story. The rest was pretty interesting though. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! Very honest and well balanced 🙂 It doesn’t sound like something I’d enjoy, but I enjoyed your review nonetheless. I think it’s awesome when you counter what you didn’t like about a book with what you did 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I don’t like being negative in my reviews so I always try to balance my opinion whenever I can… So it’s great to hear someone actually noticed that. 😀

      Like

  3. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays #142 – June 21st | It's All About Books

  4. Tennis… yeah, not my thing either, not sure I would want to read about it but I can also see how it can be written interesting!
    Sorry the book didn’t go down better for you, but 3 stars is still quite good! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

