BOOK REVIEW: Little Women – by Louisa May Alcott

Title: Little Women
(Little Women #1)
Author: Louisa May Alcott

Genre: Classics, YA, Contemporary
First published: September 30th 1868
Finished reading: June 30th 2017
Pages: 284

“I am not afraid of storms, for I am learning how to sail my ship.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

Looks like it’s ‘unpopular opinion’ time again! I really wanted to love this classic, but I found myself not enjoying it nearly as much as I thought I would instead. After a little investigation (and help from fellow book bloggers), I now understand that Little Women actually has two different parts, the second part written one year after the original story and also published separately under the name Good Wives. The kindle version I have does include both parts, but after long deliberation I have decided not to continue with it. Why? Even though I really wanted to enjoy this classic, I had a hard time reading it and it took me ages just to finish the first part. I’m not saying Little Women is a bad read, just that it either wasn’t the right time or simply just not for me. And since I have read quite a few negative reviews about Good Wives in the first place, I’m just not up for another struggle. I can’t deny it’s a very well written story and I can see why so many people actually love it. I might actually have enjoyed Little Women a lot better if I would have read it 15-20 years ago… But right now the story unfortunately didn’t appeal to me. I was surprised I found myself unable to truly connect to the characters and it took me weeks and finally reading one chapter at the time just to make it to the end of Part One. This is most definitely me and not this classic, but still… Not a very pleasant reading experience. So I’m sorry to all of those who call this classic their favorite! Trust me, I’ve REALLY tried to love Little Women.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Little Women is the story of four sisters trying to continue with their lives after their father has gone to war. Jo, Meg, Bath and Amy March are young ladies growing up and their different personalities clash at times, but they all want to do their best helping their mother to keep things running smoothly at home. It’s a coming of age story filled with daily situations, friendship, struggles and life lessons.

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

Like I said before, I feel actually quite bad I wasn’t able to enjoy Little Women better. I had really high hopes for this classic, but I found myself struggling to continue instead. This is definitely me and not the story, because I could see Little Women was well written as well as its appeal to many readers. I guess I just wasn’t one of them in the end. I don’t think I will ever read the second part, but I’m glad I at least now know what everybody is talking about when they mention this classic.


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramFacebookBloglovin’.

25 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Little Women – by Louisa May Alcott

  1. I know people love this book, and I enjoyed the movie versions, but I tried starting the novel literally seven times when I was a child and just could not get through it. I haven’t picked it up since. So you are not alone!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays #144 – July 5th | It's All About Books

  7. I had to giggle a bit when you said that here’s another unpopular opinion 😀 You seem to be on a roll with these but… it is what it is! 😉 😀
    I think I saw a group of people buddy reading it on Goodreads last year and about half of them were groaning their way through it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I know right! I’m afraid to pick up popular books now just in case it would be another unpopular opinion in the making. xD Good to hear I wasn’t the only one though; I guess classics can go either way in the first place.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh for sure… sometimes there’s a bit of pressure as well to think highly of a classic book.. it’s like- what? how can you NOT enjoy this magnificent piece of art?…
        but yeah, no, sometimes it’s just no! 😀
        I do hope that the unpopular opinion alert will be left behind for a while now, meaning you can/will enjoy the books you read a lot better! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • The latest popular book I picked up (Aristotle And Dante) was a winner so I guess the unpopular opinion marathon has come to an end. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  8. My heart breaks reading this review, BUT I can definitely see why you struggled through this one. LM is definitely a slower more heartwarming story, which you really need to be in the right mood for… My enjoyment of the book could have also been influenced by the fact that I would watch the movie with my grandmother every year when I went to stay with her on my grandparent’s farm for a week, so there was definitely some sentimental value there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah yes I can definitely understand why you would enjoy it a lot better that way, triggering such lovely memories while reading it. It was my first experience with the story and part of it might have been I wasn’t in the mood for this kind of story. Who knows, when I have kids one day I might read it to them and fall in love with the story?

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: 2017 Beat The Backlist: Official Update Post | It's All About Books

  10. Pingback: Hooked To Books Reading Challenge: It’s A Wrap! @Hookedtobooks | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

