ARC REVIEW: Jeopardy In July – by Barbara Venkataraman

Title: Jeopardy In July
(A Jamie Quinn Mystery #5)
Author: Barbara Venkataraman

Genre: Mystery, Suspense
First published: March 27th 2017
Finished reading: July 6th 2017
Pages: 220

“The thought of discussing Fifty Shades of Grey with women who reminded me of my grandmother sent shivers down my spine. You couldn’t pay me to join that book club, not even for a million bucks. Well, maybe a million. Hell, I’d eat a cockroach for half that.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I read the first four Jamie Quinn books last year and I have grown to like both the main character and the writing style, so it was really easy to say yes to a copy of book number five. And I have to say that Jeopardy In July might just have been my favorite Jamie Quinn adventure yet. I’m not sure if it was because this story was exactly the fast, entertaining and easy read I was craving at the moment, but I literally read this cozy mystery in one sitting and enjoyed every single moment of the ride. It’s true that if you look critically at Jeopardy In July not everything about the plot is exactly all that credible and some of it might be over the top… But trust me, in this case this will lead to only more laugh-out-loud funny moments and situations Jamie Quinn will have to find a way to get out of. The writing style is very enjoyable and fun to read and I literally flew through the pages. The whole Kip-romance thing still wasn’t my thing, but the many La Vida Boca scenes mostly made up for that and the case Jamie Quinn finds herself in the middle of is very interesting. In short a highly entertaining cozy mystery with a healthy dose of humor and funny quotes… Reading the previous books is recommended though since it will help you understand the characters and their evolvement over time better.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

WARNING: Possible spoilers! Please don’t read this summary if you haven’t read the first four books of this series yet. I’ll keep the summary super short but it’s impossible to keep it completely spoiler-free…

La Vida Boca is a posh assisted living facility in Boca Raton, Florida and seems to be a true paradise for the older generation. Recently they have been having an alarming amount of deaths though… While none of them are considered suspicious at first, things start to get strange when members of the same small poker club are starting to die under suspicious circumstances. Jamie Quinn has once again found her a mystery… Will she be able to find out what is really going on?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I normally prefer my mysteries to be a little more ‘thrilling’, but every once in a while I like to endulge myself with a cozy mystery. Jeopardy In July turned out to be just the highly entertaining, fast and easy read I was craving and I had a lot of fun reading this story. The writing style is very enjoyable and the case in Jeopardy In July is quite interesting. I’m enjoying to see Jamie Quinn’s character evolve over time and the ending definitely made me wonder what’s next in store for her!


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramFacebookBloglovin’.

7 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Jeopardy In July – by Barbara Venkataraman

  1. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays #145 – July 12th | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: 2017 (Netgalley) ARCs: The Complete List | It's All About Books

  6. Pingback: Month In Review: July 2017 | It's All About Books

  7. Pingback: Hooked To Books Reading Challenge: It’s A Wrap! @Hookedtobooks | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

