ARC REVIEW: Stillhouse Lake – by Rachel Caine @rachelcaine @ThomasMercerUK

Title: Stillhouse Lake
(Stillhouse Lake #1)
Author: Rachel Caine

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense
First published: July 1st 2017
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Finished reading: July 18th 2017
Pages: 302

“There are no limits for the hate. It’s free-floating, a toxic cloud of moral outrage and mob mentality, and it doesn’t care who it hurts. Only that it does.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Thomas & Mercer in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I have heard a lot of excellent things about Stillhouse Lake so far, so you can imagine my happy dance when I saw the message in my inbox that my Netgalley wish was granted. It took me less than a week to pick up my copy and I still kind of wish I would have done so earlier. Because wow. Just WOW. It’s been over a day since I finished reading Stillhouse Lake and I am still lost for words. I should probably have taken more time to cool off before writing my review, because this thriller has been one hell of a ride…But let’s see if I can say something somewhat coherent about it. First of all Stillhouse Lake is hands down one of the best thrillers I’ve read this year and just so damn intense! Make sure to clear your schedule before starting this one, because you will want to sit down and read it in one go. The story had me hooked from page one and didn’t let me go until the very end… Why? Here are some bulletpoints to give you an idea. Highly creepy serial killer: CHECK. Intriguing plot and plot twists:CHECK. Constant suspense and feeling something is off: CHECK. Brilliant writing style that keeps you on the edge of your seat: CHECK. Inability to trust any character: CHECK. Being sure you figured it all out and finding out you’re wrong over and over again: CHECK. Very realistic character development: CHECK. Do I have to go on? Dark, twisted, messed up and oh so good…As you can imagine, I can highly recommend Stillhouse Lake. Where can I sign up for the sequel?!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

The life of Gina Royal seemed to be nothing but average: a shy Midwestern housewife with a happy marriage and two children. But that is until a car crashes into their garage and her husband’s secret life as a serial killer is revealed. People can’t believe she never knew about it and blame her just as much as her husband… After one too many death threat, stalkers and internet trolls, Gina is forced to run and create a new identity to keep both her and her kids safe. Her ex is now in prison, but that doesn’t mean danger isn’t out there… Not only has her husband connections and seems to find her wherever she hides, but there are many others who wish her harm. Gina, now called Gwen, thinks she is finally safe in their new home on remote Stillhouse Lake. But just as the three are starting to feel at ease in their new identities, a body turns up in the lake…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

Like I said before, Stillhouse Lake is hands down one of the best thrillers I’ve read so far this year. This story is dark, disturbing and intense right from the very first page and will have you hooked until you reach the end. I love my serial killer thrillers and this focus on the relatives and the consequences of being linked to a serial killer is such an original perspective! I loved every single moment of this disturbing ride and I can highly recommend it to fans of the genre. SO good!


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramFacebookBloglovin’.

23 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Stillhouse Lake – by Rachel Caine @rachelcaine @ThomasMercerUK

    • If you like those you will most likely enjoy this one! The main focus is on the wife and children of the serial killer and the aftermath they have to deal with… VERY good. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Yvonne! You have just disrupted my reading schedule with this review. I am definitely reading this next. It sounds brilliant and I am glad that you enjoyed it so much. I can’t wait to experience it too 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    • Yay! I hope your experience will be as positive as mine! It was my first Rachel Caine book but I’m going to bump The Great Library books to the top of my TBR pile now. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Listing The Reading | It's All About Books

  3. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Title | It's All About Books

  4. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Author | It's All About Books

  5. Pingback: Listing The Reading By Rating | It's All About Books

  6. Great review. I felt exactly the same about this one. Sooo good. I think what I loved the most is that it’s a good old fashioned guess who the killer is story without all of the unlikeable/unreliable narrator stuff. It feels like forever since I’ve read this type of book.

    It definitely keeps you guessing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I completely agree with that! The whole unreliable narrator thing has become pretty dominant in the genre and it can get annoying. Good to hear you enjoyed Stillhouse Lake as much as I did!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: 2017 (Netgalley) ARCs: The Complete List | It's All About Books

  8. Pingback: Month In Review: July 2017 | It's All About Books

  9. Pingback: Hooked To Books Reading Challenge: It’s A Wrap! @Hookedtobooks | It's All About Books

Leave a Reply

