Traveling has a special place in my heart; I love exploring new countries, cities and cultures both in real life and through the books I read. I know that already share a settings map in each The Numbers post, but I thought it was fun to take a closer look at the different bookish destinations I was able to travel to each month. Hence this monthly bookish post was born, Bookish Travel, where I will be sharing where the books I read that month took me.

May 2024 turned out to be a fantastic travel month! True, I had less US states than usual with ‘only’ thirteen of them, but I had a whopping SEVENTEEN other countries. A special thanks to The Paris Widow and The Last Agent for adding multiple countries to the mix. 😉 Below a map featuring the different bookish travel destinations. (I use this page for the map.)

Ready to take a closer look at where exactly I was able to travel to during May? They will appear in the order I’ve visited them (except for the UK/US because they have multiple titles).

1. UK

With these books I was able to travel to the following UK destinations: Lancashire, Lackford, London, Yorkshire, Dartmouth, Somerset

2. US

With these books I was able to travel to the following US states: California, New York, Kansas, Pennsylvania, Missouri, Texas, Georgia, Washington, Montana, Vermont, Maine, New Jersey, Virginia

3. NORWAY

Nordic noir title Stigma is set in Norway. The Last Agent also makes a quick stop in Norway.

4. GHANA

The Missing American is mainly set in Ghana.

5. AUSTRALIA

Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone is set in Australia. The same goes for Original Twin.

6. SOUTH KOREA

XOXO is also set in South Korea.

7. ITALY

If Something Happens To Me travels to Italy, and the same goes for The Paris Widow.

8. FRANCE

If Something Happens To Me has a couple chapters set in France. The Paris Widow, like the title already suggests, also takes partly place in France. The Golden Oldies’ Book Club likewise travels to France… And last but not least, A Beautifully Foolish Endeavor also makes a stop in France.

9. CANADA

Burn is partly set in Canada.

10-13. SPAIN, LUXEMBOURG, THE NETHERLANDS, MALTA

The Paris Widow also makes a stop in Spain, Luxembourg, The Netherlands and Malta.

14. CUBA

The Cuban Heiress is mainly set at sea, but also makes a stop in Cuba.

15. SWEDEN

Nordic noir title Under The Storm is set in Sweden. The Last Agent also makes a quick stop in Sweden.

16. RUSSIA

The Last Agent travels to Russia.

17. TURKEY

The Last Agent also makes a stop in Turkey.

18. FINLAND

Last but not least, The Last Agent also takes us to Finland.


That’s it for the destinations in May! How many countries were you able to travel to last month? Did you read any of the books mentioned above? 


You can also find me at Goodreads. StoryGraph. Twitter. Instagram. Bloglovin’.