Title: The Vanishing Act
(Mallory Dawson #3)

Author: Sarah Ward
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Crime
First published: July 4th 2024
Publisher: Canelo Crime
Finished reading: June 16th 2024
Pages: 277

“I think all the bad blood spilled out that afternoon.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Canelo Crime in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

REVIEW

I enjoyed my first two meetings with Mallory Dawson, so of course I couldn’t resist adding book number three The Vanishing Act to my shelves. Add the fact that the blurb sounded fascinating with a family disappearing without a trace, the false identities and the hint at the paranormal, and I’ve been looking forward to read it. I have to say that this story hit the right spot for me again! Book two was a bit slower and less engaging for me, but The Vanish Act raises the stakes again and delivers us a suspenseful and truly intriguing ride.

The Vanishing Act can quite easily be read as a stand-alone without missing out on too much, although I do have to say that you might not understand certain references and character dynamics. Spoilers might also be found for certain developments on a personal level… So if you are planning to read the whole series, it’s best to do so in order. That said, the case discussed in The Vanishing Act completely stands on its own, and it’s a fascinating one at that with the family disappearing from a holiday cottage in the middle of a forest, seemingly without a trace… And that same Welsh cottage having a dark past.

This sequel switches back between past and present as we explore both the missing family and their secrets as well as what exactly happened inside that same cottage to give it its reputation. The events set in 2003 give the story a bit of a paranormal/supernatural vibe, and I loved how this element was incorporated into the plot without it being too overpowering. Nothing concrete is said about the events being either made up or in fact something not natural, and this gives the story the perfect ominous atmosphere without truly venturing into the fantasy genre. In fact, it’s more of a Welsh myth/folklore vibe?

While it was great to meet up with Mallory, Harri and the rest again, I could appreciate that the main focus was on the disappearance and the events in 2003 this time around. It helped preventing the pace from slowing down too much, and there were so many secrets to unravel in past and present that the personal developments would have distracted other wise. Most of the characters are flawed and they all have their issues, but again the focus was mostly on the plot this time around. And while I did guess part of the truth, there were also things I didn’t see coming. The story without doubt goes out with a bang!

In short, The Vanishing Act turned out to be another successful Mallory Dawson sequel. After how things ended, I will definitely be looking forward to the next book, that’s for sure! If you like well written thrillers with a Welsh setting and don’t mind a hint of the supernatural, The Vanishing Act is a great option.


You can also find me at Goodreads. StoryGraph. Twitter. Instagram. Bloglovin’.