Time for another round of Yvonne’s Shorties! This time around a psychological thriller partly set on a plane I really enjoyed and the final book of a crime thriller series that didn’t work as well as the previous books.


Title: Final Call
Author: Alex Lake

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense
First published: June 8th 2023
Publisher: HarperCollins
Finished reading: April 6th 2024
Pages: 400

“The past fell away. The future was yet to come.”

REVIEW

I can somehow never resist stories that are at least partly set on a plane, so it is easy to understand why Final Call ended up making its way on my TBR. I was in the mood for something fast and entertaining, and then I remembered this title left over from my March TBR and decided to give in. I’ve been meaning to try Alex Lake‘s books for a while now, and I have to say his work made an excellent first impression! The short and snappy chapters make it really easy to keep turning those pages, and I had a fantastic time discovering the pilot’s motivations behind the plane hijack. This story uses a multiple POV structure, as we hear from all seven plane passengers as well as the pilot and even more characters in the 2018 flashback chapters. It can be a bit tricky to keep them all apart in the beginning, but somehow the many POV structures did work well in Final Call. I think it was because it added even more tension and urgency, and the main focus is on the plot and not the character development in the first place. I didn’t expect the 2018 flashbacks or reason behind the hijack at all, but it was interesting to see everything unfold. Some of it had a bit of a conspiracy vibe and things can be said about the credibility of the plot, but I personally was having too much fun to truly be bothered by it. And what a way to go out with a bang! I will definitely be reading more of this author in the future.


Title: Mercy
(Atlee Pine #4)
Author: David Baldacci

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Crime
First published: November 16th 2021
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Finished reading: April 8th 2024
Pages: 432

“She didn’t like people looking for her. She didn’t want to be found. Only bad things could happen from that.”

REVIEW

WARNING: it’s another unpopular opinion!!

I still can’t believe I only discovered David Baldacci’s writing this year, but he is quickly turning into a new favorite. I’ve been having a lot of fun with the Atlee Pine books so far, so I decided to just give in and read the fourth and final book… Sadly I have to say that as far as conclusions come, this final book was a bit underwhelming for me. It’s not necessarily a bad read, but quite different from the first three books and I really missed spending more time with dynamic duo Pine and Blum. They are still there, but less present as a completely new POV pops up in the form of El Cain. I don’t want to give away too much to avoid spoilers, but while I loved the idea behind this POV, I couldn’t stand El Cain as a character. She was SO hard to warm up to, and I really struggled every time I had to spend time with her POV. Pine and Blum do appear as well, and I did love spending time with this duo, but it was just not enough for me this time around. I also wasn’t a fan of the focus on racism/cult angle, which sounded a bit too political to my taste… And the pace itself was initially a lot slower than I expected. I can’t deny that this story goes out with a bang though! But all in all Mercy still wasn’t quite up to the same standard as the previous three books for me.


You can also find me at Goodreads. StoryGraph. Twitter. Instagram. Bloglovin’.